Sony 70-200mm F2.8 G SSM II w/ A99 for weddings - HELP

Started Dec 17, 2014 | Questions
vinnylo
vinnylo Contributing Member • Posts: 530
Sony 70-200mm F2.8 G SSM II w/ A99 for weddings - HELP

I am literally about to purchase this lens as I am a lead wedding photographer. is this a great lens or does anyone have any other option in mind, as far performance goes...

THX!!!

-- hide signature --

http://www.viewbug.com/member/vincentlopez
Technology does not take good photos, people do.

vinnylo's gear list:vinnylo's gear list
Sony a7R II Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM Sigma 35mm F1.4 DG HSM Art Sony a9 Tamron SP 90mm F2.8 Di VC USD 1:1 Macro (F004) +4 more
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Sony 70-200mm F2.8 G SSM II Sony Alpha a99
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Roses Senior Member • Posts: 2,760
Re: Sony 70-200mm F2.8 G SSM II w/ A99 for weddings - HELP

Tamron 70-200mm/f2.8, all-weather-sealed, optically sharp and excellent image quality, for around $1400.

-- hide signature --
 Roses's gear list:Roses's gear list
Sony a9 Sony a7R III Sony FE 16-35mm F2.8 Sony FE 100mm F2.8 GM Tamron 28-75mm F2.8 III +2 more
Douglas F Watt Veteran Member • Posts: 3,784

vinnylo wrote:

I am literally about to purchase this lens as I am a lead wedding photographer. is this a great lens or does anyone have any other option in mind, as far performance goes...

THX!!!

It's a great lens for weddings for sure, but it is built like a tank, heavy, and frankly overpriced. Also heavy and built like a tank, but between $1500 and $2000 less money is the new USD Tamron 70-200 2.8 (not to be confused with their older macro lens which was decent, but noisy because of the screw drive, and not as sharp as the newer lens).