7D/7D MkII grip comparison photos

Started Nov 8, 2014 | Discussions
drippinDodger Regular Member • Posts: 126
7D/7D MkII grip comparison photos

My new 7D MkII kit has arrived in three separate deliveries throughout this week - the body only, an extra LP-E6N battery, and finally the grip arrived just today.  The are a number of differences between the BG-E7 grip for the 7D and the new BG-E16 grip for the 7D MkII.  Honestly, I was so excited to be able order the MkII that I just added the new grip to my shopping cart without looking at any of the specs or images of it.  I was somewhat surprised when I unboxed it today to see how much different it is than the BG-E7 that I've been using on my 7D for the past five years.  When holding the camera in the normal landscape orientation one doesn't really notice the difference, but once you flip the camera/grip pair into the vertical orientation it feels quite a bit different.  The BG-E7 grip is like a brick with rounded edges.  The front edge of the new BG-E16 grip has added an angle to the leading edge that, in my opinion, is easier to hold and provides a more secure feel.  I can see it being a bit easier to hold for those with smaller hands.  I've just used the new grip for a few minutes out in the yard this afternoon but will be using it paired with the new MkII during a trip to the Kingsbury Air Fair tomorrow and during our daughter's soccer game on Sunday afternoon.

Pardon the makeshift backdrop used in the images below.  I simply used two sheets of poster board on our kitchen table and took the images with my MkII mounted on my tripod and using my 580 EXII flash.

From the top view you can see that the BG-E16 on the left is slightly larger than the BG-E7 on the right.

From the bottom you can see the profile has changed a bit.