Does your lens cap still work when using a filter?

Started Sep 25, 2014 | Discussions
rcf123 Junior Member • Posts: 28
Does your lens cap still work when using a filter?

My question is essentially that...I have never used filters before, so I have no idea, but I wanted to give it a go..

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0083WYD9Q/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A1WFSHX6J483SX

So, if I buy the above filter kit (I have a fuji xt1), does the lens cap that comes with the lens still fit onto it? How about the hood?

I apologize if this is a dumb question!! 

Ido Scharf
Ido Scharf Veteran Member • Posts: 5,181
Re: Does your lens cap still work when using a filter?

Yup, it works for me and should work in all cases. Remember that a polarizer rotates, so the cap will rotate with it when it's on; just a minor annoyance, not much else.

Those filters look awful, though. For decent quality, you should be spending more than that on each filter!

Ido Scharf's gear list:Ido Scharf's gear list
Olympus 40-150mm F2.8 Pro Panasonic Lumix DC-G9 Olympus 12-40mm F2.8 Pro Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 25mm F1.8 Panasonic 8-18mm F2.8-4
OP rcf123 Junior Member • Posts: 28

Ido S wrote:

Yup, it works for me and should work in all cases. Remember that a polarizer rotates, so the cap will rotate with it when it's on; just a minor annoyance, not much else.

Those filters look awful, though. For decent quality, you should be spending more than that on each filter!

As I'm just beginning to dabble into the world of filters, I didn't want to spend a fortune before knowing which filter type I prefer..I was honestly surprised by the high ratings for them though!! 

Ido Scharf

rcf123 wrote:

As I'm just beginning to dabble into the world of filters, I didn't want to spend a fortune before knowing whichfilter type I prefer..I was honestly surprised by the high ratings for them though!!

That's quite a bad reason for buying bad filters, in my opinion.