My Prediction: E-M1 Firmware Update

Started Aug 23, 2014 | Discussions
Landscapephoto99 Senior Member • Posts: 2,870
My Prediction: E-M1 Firmware Update

Just thought about this for what it is worth, which yes I know is not that much since I have no insider knowledge:

The huge firmware update for the E-M1 is likely a contract with Panasonic that gave Panasonic a half year or more with very high quality of video before allowing Olympus to unlock those features on their cameras as well.  Remember how everyone was surprised that Olympus used a Panasonic sensor for the E-M1 when the Sony sensor was in every other camera?

And it may very well also be something to placate E-M1 customers when Olympus unveils some nice new technology soon in the upcoming E-M5 II

Olympus E-M1
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Macx Senior Member • Posts: 1,433
Re: My Prediction: E-M1 Firmware Update

Landscapephoto99 wrote:

Just thought about this for what it is worth, which yes I know is not that much since I have no insider knowledge:

The huge firmware update for the E-M1 is likely a contract with Panasonic that gave Panasonic a half year or more with very high quality of video before allowing Olympus to unlock those features on their cameras as well. Remember how everyone was surprised that Olympus used a Panasonic sensor for the E-M1 when the Sony sensor was in every other camera?

And it may very well also be something to placate E-M1 customers when Olympus unveils some nice new technology soon in the upcoming E-M5 II

Well, you might be right, but it would surprise me very much if we see anything that comes close to what the GH4 is capable of. My guess is for more frame rate options, at the very least a 24/25/50 fps option. Maybe a higher speed, maybe at reduced resolution. Maybe a 4K mode at reduced fps. Maybe some tweaking of PDAF during video.

OP Landscapephoto99 Senior Member • Posts: 2,870