RX100 III - overexposed images?

Started Aug 7, 2014 | Discussions
lubej Regular Member • Posts: 224
RX100 III - overexposed images?

Hello

Do you find out that images you take are overexposed, skies are blown out ...

Is it possible that sony produced high end (and quite expensive) camera which matering works incorrectly?

If the answer is yes, do you think there is any chance that we will see firmware update which will fix this problem?

I'm not an expert but I think that changing default settings to correct this problem is wrong approach.Pictures should be fine with default settings!

For example, check out my album:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/gregorv/sets/72157645896739253/

For all pictures camera was set to iAuto mode.

Thank you.

Kind regards

Sony RX100 III
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Interceptor121 Regular Member • Posts: 372
Re: RX100 III - overexposed images?

I had the same issue on the Mark III I returned not sure if it is a general problem or a specific item issue

I found that the metering was -2/3 higher than my Nikon and the other RX100 II I have

Symptoms included clipped highlights as those in your images there is a similar post in this forum already today

-- hide signature --
 Interceptor121's gear list:Interceptor121's gear list
Sony RX100 II Nikon D7100 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG Macro HSM II +10 more
Javier Romero Junior Member • Posts: 30

Jesus, Another issue with this camera, mine has a terrible auto focus issue, inconsistent white balance and I 've been having a hard time dealing with this overexposed images problem, so annoying, I feel I just wasted almost $900!

lancespring Veteran Member • Posts: 3,974
This same issue exists with many other Sony cameras

lubej wrote:

Hello

Is it possible that sony produced high end (and quite expensive) camera which matering works incorrectly?