The skin color advice.

Started Jul 27, 2014 | Discussions
AlGor
AlGor Senior Member • Posts: 1,855
The skin color advice.

i did promise for one Guatemalan guy to make some portrait (I'm a builder myself) and used my RX100-1 (which is always in my working bag) .

After some touching in LR I was in hesitate about skin color... From one side i don't like to keep it too

dark (plus a some yellows shades) but from other side it should be native .

Just for opinion from you guys, take a fresh look please... Any recommendations?

Al.

AlGor's gear list:AlGor's gear list
Sony RX100 Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 Olympus Tough TG-4 Nikon D750 +2 more
Ed at Ridersite Forum Pro • Posts: 18,477
Re: The skin color advice.

A couple of thoughts on this.  The skin tone is mostly determined by white balance.  IMO, Sony tends to be a little too much toward the blue.  I generally warm it up a little when editing RAW files.

I think shooting at 100mm was a good idea, but IMO, f4.9 would work better and you'd gain quite a bit of shutter speed (up around 1/400th) which would likely improve sharpness.  Also, I think the stone wall would work OK as a background, but I'd avoid having the door frame sticking out of his head.

-- hide signature --

AEH
http://aehass.zenfolio.com/
http://aehass.zenfolio.com/blog
Question: What do you do all week?
Answer: Mon to Fri. Nothing, Sat & Sun I rest!

Ed at Ridersite's gear list:Ed at Ridersite's gear list
Sony RX100 II Sony SLT-A68 Sony DT 16-50mm F2.8 SSM Sony 70-400mm F4-5.6 G SSM II
AlGor
OP AlGor Senior Member • Posts: 1,855

Thanks Ed, but I have what I have... My main interest was in skin tone/color, if it don't needs to be more lighter/darker.

I think you right about camera settings but with bright sunny day it should take a some while to install and in my case I have no time for it. This is what I love mostly in new M-3 --- EVF ! (I don't have it).