Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

Started Jun 29, 2014 | Discussions
2ge
2ge New Member • Posts: 6
Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

Hi guys,

I am happy owner of Olympus Tough 3, it is my first rugged camera, basically just shooting in "hard" conditions, on the boat, and during snorkelling...

Anyway I managed to copy picture using WIFI to iOS, that was easy. Now I want to copy pics from camera to my macbook. I just can not find the way, so what I tried:

  • searched interned
  • connected from computer to camera using wifi
  • Olympus viever 3 / Aperture doesnt see camera
  • I find out, camera got IP 192.168.0.10 and it is possible to browse photos using web browser
  • I tried to connect to server using finder (afp, smb, http...nothing connects, but ftp is seems alive, I am going to try nmap/port scanner, which ports are open)

So far, I can not copy pictures from camera using WIFI to computer. Maybe anybody knows how to do it simple? I am programmer, so it can not be big probem to make small script, which scans for all pictures and copy them (actually simple wget would do it, I think).

Thanks for any ideas.

Edit: output from nmap:

$ nmap -v -A -T4 192.168.0.10

Starting Nmap 6.46 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2014-06-29 10:43 CEST

NSE: Loaded 118 scripts for scanning.

NSE: Script Pre-scanning.

Initiating Ping Scan at 10:43

Scanning 192.168.0.10 [2 ports]

Completed Ping Scan at 10:43, 0.01s elapsed (1 total hosts)

Initiating Parallel DNS resolution of 1 host. at 10:43

Completed Parallel DNS resolution of 1 host. at 10:43, 13.00s elapsed

Initiating Connect Scan at 10:43

Scanning 192.168.0.10 [1000 ports]

Discovered open port 80/tcp on 192.168.0.10

Completed Connect Scan at 10:43, 3.37s elapsed (1000 total ports)

Initiating Service scan at 10:43

Scanning 1 service on 192.168.0.10

Completed Service scan at 10:45, 98.77s elapsed (1 service on 1 host)

NSE: Script scanning 192.168.0.10.

Initiating NSE at 10:45

Completed NSE at 10:45, 32.44s elapsed

Nmap scan report for 192.168.0.10

Host is up (0.023s latency).

Not shown: 999 closed ports

PORT STATE SERVICE VERSION

80/tcp open http?

|_http-methods: No Allow or Public header in OPTIONS response (status code 501)

| http-title: Site doesn't have a title (text/html).

|_Requested resource was http://192.168.0.10/DCIM

1 service unrecognized despite returning data. If you know the service/version, please submit the following fingerprint at http://www.insecure.org/cgi-bin/servicefp-submit.cgi :

SF-Port80-TCP:V=6.46%I=7%D=6/29%Time=53AFD1BB%P=x86_64-apple-darwin10.8.0%

SF:r(GetRequest,114,"HTTP/1\.1\x20301\x20Moved\x20Permanently\r\nContent-T

SF:ype:\x20text/html\r\nContent-Length:\x20165\r\nLocation:\x20http://oish

SF:are/DCIM\r\n\r\n<!DOCTYPE\x20HTML\x20PUBLIC\x20\"-//IETF//DTD\x20HTML\x

SF:202\.0//EN\">\r\n<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>301\x20Moved\x20Permanently</TITLE>

SF:</HEAD>\r\n<BODY><H1>301\x20Moved\x20Permanently</H1>\r\n\r\n</BODY></H

SF:TML>\r\n")%r(HTTPOptions,F2,"HTTP/1\.1\x20501\x20Not\x20Implenmented\r\

SF:nContent-Type:\x20text/html\r\nContent-Length:\x20163\r\n\r\n<!DOCTYPE\

SF:x20HTML\x20PUBLIC\x20\"-//IETF//DTD\x20HTML\x202\.0//EN\">\r\n<HTML><HE

SF:AD><TITLE>501\x20Not\x20Implenmented</TITLE></HEAD>\r\n<BODY><H1>501\x2

SF:0Not\x20Implenmented</H1>\r\n\r\n</BODY></HTML>\r\n")%r(RTSPRequest,F2,

SF:"HTTP/1\.1\x20501\x20Not\x20Implenmented\r\nContent-Type:\x20text/html\

SF:r\nContent-Length:\x20163\r\n\r\n<!DOCTYPE\x20HTML\x20PUBLIC\x20\"-//IE

SF:TF//DTD\x20HTML\x202\.0//EN\">\r\n<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>501\x20Not\x20Impl

SF:enmented</TITLE></HEAD>\r\n<BODY><H1>501\x20Not\x20Implenmented</H1>\r\

SF:n\r\n</BODY></HTML>\r\n")%r(FourOhFourRequest,DD,"HTTP/1\.1\x20404\x20N

SF:ot\x20Found\r\nContent-Type:\x20text/html\r\nContent-Length:\x20149\r\n

SF:\r\n<!DOCTYPE\x20HTML\x20PUBLIC\x20\"-//IETF//DTD\x20HTML\x202\.0//EN\"

SF:>\r\n<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>404\x20Not\x20Found</TITLE></HEAD>\r\n<BODY><H1

SF:>404\x20Not\x20Found</H1>\r\n\r\n</BODY></HTML>\r\n")%r(GenericLines,E3

SF:,"HTTP/1\.1\x20400\x20Bad\x20Request\r\nContent-Type:\x20text/html\r\nC

SF:ontent-Length:\x20153\r\n\r\n<!DOCTYPE\x20HTML\x20PUBLIC\x20\"-//IETF//

SF:DTD\x20HTML\x202\.0//EN\">\r\n<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>400\x20Bad\x20Request<

SF:/TITLE></HEAD>\r\n<BODY><H1>400\x20Bad\x20Request</H1>\r\n\r\n</BODY></

SF:HTML>\r\n")%r(SIPOptions,E3,"HTTP/1\.1\x20400\x20Bad\x20Request\r\nCont

SF:ent-Type:\x20text/html\r\nContent-Length:\x20153\r\n\r\n<!DOCTYPE\x20HT

SF:ML\x20PUBLIC\x20\"-//IETF//DTD\x20HTML\x202\.0//EN\">\r\n<HTML><HEAD><T

SF:ITLE>400\x20Bad\x20Request</TITLE></HEAD>\r\n<BODY><H1>400\x20Bad\x20Re

SF:quest</H1>\r\n\r\n</BODY></HTML>\r\n");

NSE: Script Post-scanning.

Read data files from: /usr/local/bin/../share/nmap

Service detection performed. Please report any incorrect results at http://nmap.org/submit/ .

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 148.01 seconds

Olympus Tough TG-3
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Mittskitts Contributing Member • Posts: 787
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

Does it show up in Image Capture? (You may have to manually boot Applications > Image Capture, and look to see if it shows up under Devices or under Shared in the left hand column. You may have to hover your cursor over "Shared" in the left hand column, in case the camera is "hidden" and then click "show" to make it visible.)

 Mittskitts's gear list:Mittskitts's gear list
Olympus Tough TG-1 iHS Olympus SH-50 Olympus Tough TG-3 Olympus TG-6 Nikon Coolpix P950 +2 more
2ge
OP 2ge New Member • Posts: 6
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

I just tried it, it doesn't work, no device there.

I tried connecting to Oly WIFI, then starting Image Capture, no devices detected (0,0), and vice versa - starting Image Capture first, and then connecting to WIFI - same result, no device detected (0,0).

Any more ideas?

Steven Wandy Veteran Member • Posts: 5,508
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

I have not tried this personally but unless Olympus changed the Wifi capabilities that it built into the TG3 from what it has in the other cameras (I have the M4/3 EM10 and the Stylus 1) and they only connect to an mobile/tablet device using the Olympus Share app. I don't think that there is a way using the Wifi network that the camera sets up to connect to a computer.

The only thing I can suggest (and again I have not tried this) is to turn on the Wifi from the camera and see if the computer "sees" and connects to the camera's wifi network. (I guess you would have to manually enter the passcode.) If it does connect, then I guess use either Image Capture or iPhoto to import the photos.

One question - why not just remove the SD card from the camera and import the photos to the Mac that way?

 Steven Wandy's gear list:Steven Wandy's gear list
Sony RX100 V Canon PowerShot SX730 HS Olympus PEN E-PL1 Olympus E-M5 III Olympus 9mm F8 Fish-Eye Body Cap Lens +4 more
2ge
OP 2ge New Member • Posts: 6
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

Hi, thanks for trying help.

The thing is - I can connect to wifi camera exactly as you described, thats not a problem. I can even browse using BROWSER (chrome, safari...) the photos. But I just can not import them, I tried Image Capture, Aperture (I am not using iPhoto anymore), but no import from there.

So, it seems, officially it is not possible to transfer photos from Olympus Camera to Mac OSX (wondering, if it is possible on windows, but I dont think so), so I have to write my own script for that - not a big deal.

And you asking why I dont want to insert SD card...just because I bought Olympus with WIFI, and I want to use it, otherwise I would buy something else without WIFI support.

Anyway, thanks.

PatrickB01 Junior Member • Posts: 35
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX
1

Hi, thanks for trying help.

The thing is - I can connect to wifi camera exactly as you described, thats not a problem. I can even browse using BROWSER (chrome, safari...) the photos. But I just can not import them, I tried Image Capture, Aperture (I am not using iPhoto anymore), but no import from there.

So, it seems, officially it is not possible to transfer photos from Olympus Camera to Mac OSX (wondering, if it is possible on windows, but I dont think so), so I have to write my own script for that - not a big deal.

And you asking why I dont want to insert SD card...just because I bought Olympus with WIFI, and I want to use it, otherwise I would buy something else without WIFI support.

Anyway, thanks.

They make WiFi enabled SD cards that would fit your needs. WiFi support on a camera obviously means something different to you then it does to me and the manufacturer. I think it means I can control the camera and share photos to applications that support it. Not that it magically makes a network share that is usable by a operating system.

2ge
OP 2ge New Member • Posts: 6
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

OK I see. It is quite pity, because, for example, I think it would be quite useful - I made photo, share it to computer, immediately can edit it in photo program such as Aperture and publish. I don't see reason why it should be limited just to mobile devices.

Anyway, at least now is on internet information, it is not straight from camera, and maybe in future there will be some programs, which will do what (I guess) we want.

Thanks for all responses and info.

ken_nith Forum Member • Posts: 64
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

You are a lucky guy. I'm still waiting for my TG3.

I found a thread from other group that talk about OI.Share

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3546263

So far no one knows what transfer protocol that Olympus is using … However, a gentleman brought up an interesting idea, which he uses android app player (BlueStacks) on PC. He use Bluestacks for remote controlling the camera. I had a look at BlueStack don’t think it will work for you. (I don’t think it allow you to access the Android file system…)

But you may able to download the file thru other android emulator to your MAC.

Basically, run an Android VM on your MAC. Install apps that needed for file transfer.

1) Set up the Android Emulator on your MAC. Try Genymotion

2) Install OI Share on the Android Emulator for getting picture from TG3

3) Install FTP server on the Android Emulator for transfering picture from Android to your MAC.

Genymotion (Android Emulator)

(official site) www.genymotion.com

(Introduction) http://www.addictivetips.com/windows-tips/genymotion-android-emulator-for-os-x-windows-linux/

Genymotion seems like brother of Virtual Box. I’ve been using virtual box for a while, pretty stable.

Android Studio (Android Emulator)

(official site) http://developer.android.com/tools/devices/emulator.html

(Set up video) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ORW3HxrmLTY

I just come up with this solution during lunch time. Not a great solution (it put a heavy load on your mac), but I think it will work …

Good luck.

 ken_nith's gear list:ken_nith's gear list
Olympus Tough TG-3 Fujifilm X100F Olympus OM-D E-M5 Panasonic Leica Summilux DG 25mm F1.4 Panasonic Lumix G Vario 45-200mm F4-5.6 OIS +4 more
PatrickB01 Junior Member • Posts: 35
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

2ge wrote:

OK I see. It is quite pity, because, for example, I think it would be quite useful - I made photo, share it to computer, immediately can edit it in photo program such as Aperture and publish. I don't see reason why it should be limited just to mobile devices.

Anyway, at least now is on internet information, it is not straight from camera, and maybe in future there will be some programs, which will do what (I guess) we want.

Thanks for all responses and info.

Maybe these options would be good for you?

https://www.eyefi.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-Wi-Fi-Class-Memory-TS32GWSDHC10/dp/B00A659ILQ

-P

2ge
OP 2ge New Member • Posts: 6
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

thanks for nice work-around. I was emulating Android when I wanted to share some photos on Instagram using computer, so I got experience with this. If I will find time, I will post here simple script, which will copy pictures to computer, it is really simple using wget or similar tool.

Michael_13 Regular Member • Posts: 364
tried it on Windows with browser

I can see all pics as previews (thumbnails) and it also opens JPGs, but not ORFs.

Download is possible with a manually typed URL, but only one by one.

So you'll need indeed wget to automate this.

Cheers,

Michael

2ge
OP 2ge New Member • Posts: 6
SOLVED (using terminal)
1

ok guys, so I find some time to play with this. I come with this abraca-dabra command, which you run in terminal:

wget -q -O - http://192.168.0.10/DCIM/100OLYMP | awk -F\" '/wlansd\[[0-9]/ {print "http://192.168.0.10" $2}' | sed -E 's/(.*(JPG|MOV|AVI))(.+)/\1/' | sed 's/,/\//' | xargs wget

it should copy all jpg,avi and mov to current directory. I am sure, it can be written better, but this works (at least for me, I dont know if TG-3 can be on other IP address and also I believe dir 100OLYMP can be also different, so there is still some space to hack this, but then hard to do in 1 line, I could write perl program for that..., but this just works).

Output in terminal looks like:

MBP:Oly 2ge$ wget -q -O - http://192.168.0.10/DCIM/100OLYMP | awk -F\" '/wlansd\[[0-9]/ {print "http://192.168.0.10" $2}' | sed -E 's/(.*(JPG|MOV|AVI))(.+)/\1/' | sed 's/,/\//' | xargs wget

-- hide signature --

2014-07-11 03:29:38-- http://192.168.0.10/DCIM/100OLYMP/P1010001.JPG

Connecting to 192.168.0.10:80... connected.

HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK

Length: 3146467 (3.0M) [image/jpeg]

Saving to: 'P1010001.JPG'

100%[==========================================================================>] 3,146,467 442KB/s in 6.9s

2014-07-11 03:29:45 (443 KB/s) - 'P1010001.JPG' saved [3146467/3146467]

--2014-07-11 03:29:45-- http://192.168.0.10/DCIM/100OLYMP/P1010002.JPG

Connecting to 192.168.0.10:80... connected.

...

...

...

Henry Falkner
Henry Falkner Forum Pro • Posts: 15,542
Congratulations

I have the same problem on my SH-1 and my Microsoft laptop. Thought of using an android phone emulator to wake up the SH-1 WiFi, but I have done nothing about it so far.

Henry

-- hide signature --

Henry Falkner - SH-1, SH-50, SP-570UZ
http://www.pbase.com/hfalkner

 Henry Falkner's gear list:Henry Falkner's gear list
Olympus SP-570 UZ Olympus SH-50 Olympus Stylus SH-1 Olympus OM-D E-M10 II Olympus OM-D E-M10 IV +1 more
simplewon New Member • Posts: 2
Re: Congratulations

Without wifi......

Copying pictures to a computer

Your camera supports the USB Mass Storage Class. You can transfer images to a computer by connecting the camera to the computer with the provided USB cable. The following operating systems are compatible with the USB connection:

1 Turn the camera off and connect it to the computer. • The location of the USB port varies with the computer. For details, refer to

your computer’s manual.

2 The computer recognizes the camera as a new device.

If your computer is running Windows Vista / Windows 7 / Windows 8 / Windows 8.1, select [MTP] in [USB Connection] of the setting menu to use Windows Photo Gallery.

Data transfer is not guaranteed in the following environments, even if your computer is equipped with a USB port.

Computers with a USB port added by means of an extension card, etc. Computers without a factory-installed OS and home-built computers

Camera controls can not be used while the camera is connected to a computer.

If the dialog is not displayed when the camera is connected, set [USB Connection] (P. 56) of the setting menu before connecting to PC again.

Windows

Windows XP SP3 /Windows Vista SP2 / Windows 7 SP1 / Windows 8 / Windows 8.1

Macintosh

Mac OS X v10.5-v10.9

EN 81Installing Software

 Windows 1 Insert the supplied CD in a CD-ROM drive. Windows XP

• A “Setup” dialog will be displayed.

Windows Vista / Windows 7 / Windows 8 / Windows 8.1

• An Autorun dialog will be displayed. Click “OLYMPUS Setup” to display the “Setup” dialog.

If the “Setup” dialog is not displayed, select “My Computer” (Windows XP) or “Computer” (Windows Vista/Windows 7) from the start menu. Double-click the CD-ROM (OLYMPUS Setup) icon to open the “OLYMPUS Setup” window and then double-click “LAUNCHER.EXE”.

If a “User Account Control” dialog is displayed, click “Yes” or “Continue”.

2 Follow the on-screen instructions on your computer.

3 Register your Olympus product. • Click the “Registration” button and follow the on-screen instructions.

4 Install OLYMPUS Viewer 3. • Check the system requirements before beginning installation. • Click the “OLYMPUS Viewer 3” button and follow the on-screen

instructions to install the software.

• See online help for information on using the software.

Operating System

Windows XP SP3 /Windows Vista SP2 / Windows 7 SP1 /Windows 8 / Windows 8.1

Processor

Pentium 4 1.3 GHz or better (Core 2 Duo 2.13 GHz or better required for movies)

RAM

1 GB or more (2 GB or more recommended)

Free Hard Drive Space

3 GB or more

Monitor Settings

1024 × 768 pixels or more Minimum 65,536 colors (16,770,000 colors recommended)

82 EN

 Macintosh

1 Insert the supplied CD in a CD-ROM drive. • The disk contents should automatically

be displayed in the Finder. If they are not,

double-click the CD icon on the desktop. • Double-click the “Setup” icon to display the

“Setup” dialog.

2 Install OLYMPUS Viewer 3. • Check the system requirements before

Operating System

Mac OS X v10.5–v10.9

Processor

Intel Core Solo/Duo 1.5 GHz or better (Core 2 Duo 2 GHz or better required for movies)

RAM

1 GB or more (2 GB or more recommended)

Free Hard Drive Space

3 GB or more

Monitor Settings

1024 × 768 pixels or more Minimum 32,000 colors (16,770,000 colors recommended)

beginning installation. • Click the “OLYMPUS Viewer 3” button and

follow the on-screen instructions to install the software.

Other languages can be selected from the language combo box. For information on using the software, see online help.

simplewon New Member • Posts: 2
Re: Congratulations

The settings are in the camera to make it exactly like a flash drive.

Set the usb setting to "Storage"

Mittskitts Contributing Member • Posts: 787
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

How did you browse using the browser? I can get onto the TG-3 network, but can't see anything.

 Mittskitts's gear list:Mittskitts's gear list
Olympus Tough TG-1 iHS Olympus SH-50 Olympus Tough TG-3 Olympus TG-6 Nikon Coolpix P950 +2 more
Louis_Dobson
Louis_Dobson Forum Pro • Posts: 27,576
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

I'm with the OP.  The primary use for wireless, for me, is image transfer.  I'm amazed they make it so hard.

-- hide signature --

www.flickr.com/photos/acam
http://thegentlemansnapper.blogspot.com

 Louis_Dobson's gear list:Louis_Dobson's gear list
Olympus E-M1 Olympus OM-D E-M5 Panasonic Lumix G Fisheye 8mm F3.5 Panasonic Lumix G Vario 7-14mm F4 ASPH Panasonic Leica D Summilux Asph 25mm F1.4 +7 more
Louis_Dobson
Louis_Dobson Forum Pro • Posts: 27,576
Re: Congratulations

Surely that's obvious?  The question was how to do it WITHOUT cables etc.

-- hide signature --

www.flickr.com/photos/acam
http://thegentlemansnapper.blogspot.com

 Louis_Dobson's gear list:Louis_Dobson's gear list
Olympus E-M1 Olympus OM-D E-M5 Panasonic Lumix G Fisheye 8mm F3.5 Panasonic Lumix G Vario 7-14mm F4 ASPH Panasonic Leica D Summilux Asph 25mm F1.4 +7 more
Louis_Dobson
Louis_Dobson Forum Pro • Posts: 27,576
Re: SOLVED (using terminal)

Neatly done!  It's an E-M1 here, but should be the same.  Anyone come across a better way in the last nine months?

-- hide signature --

www.flickr.com/photos/acam
http://thegentlemansnapper.blogspot.com

 Louis_Dobson's gear list:Louis_Dobson's gear list
Olympus E-M1 Olympus OM-D E-M5 Panasonic Lumix G Fisheye 8mm F3.5 Panasonic Lumix G Vario 7-14mm F4 ASPH Panasonic Leica D Summilux Asph 25mm F1.4 +7 more
Mister Photographer New Member • Posts: 1
Re: Copy photos using wifi Olympus TG3 to Mac OSX

Not a straight import, but this certainly gets the job done. I add them to Camera Roll on the iPhone. They show up in "Photos" app on the Mac. Export the "Unmodified Original" from Photos and open in Photoshop.

Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads