GF5 as backup body? (for E-M10)

Started Jun 23, 2014 | Questions
Janbe78 Regular Member • Posts: 167
GF5 as backup body? (for E-M10)

Hey,

A couple of months ago I switched from my Nikon D300s kit to a fantastic Olympus E-M10 kit. Unfortunately I had to bring in the E-M10 for repairs (front dial got squeaky and almost completely locked) and now I'm probably out-of-camera for 2 to 3 weeks. It's not that big of a deal (I'm not a pro) but still I was looking for a cheap (maybe 2nd hand) M4/3 body which I can use as a backup body, or a camera I can give to my kids without having to worry too much.

After looking for some 2nd hand bodies, I found a pretty good deal on a new Panasonic GF5 body (€159 which is $216). So I'm wondering, would you consider the GF5 as a good 2nd camera? Obviously I'm not looking for a top-quality/feature-complete body, just a cheap one on which I can use my M4/3 glass but which would still give OK results.

Thanks for your thoughts!!

J

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF5
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
zkz5
zkz5 Contributing Member • Posts: 665
Re: GF5 as backup body? (for E-M10)

Janbe78 wrote:

After looking for some 2nd hand bodies, I found a pretty good deal on a new Panasonic GF5 body (€159 which is $216). So I'm wondering, would you consider the GF5 as a good 2nd camera?

Not really. You should be able to do much better than the GF5 for $216 by buying used. I sold my G3 for $165 earlier this year and got a G5 for $240. Both of these cameras have much better sensors and other things.

sigala1 Veteran Member • Posts: 3,818

Janbe78 wrote:

Hey,