Pretty decent travel lens – Good initial impression

Started May 29, 2014 | User reviews
NikonianBob New Member • Posts: 1
Pretty decent travel lens – Good initial impression

I have been looking for a travel lens for an upcoming trip where luggage space will be limited. I’ve spent a lot of time reading reviews on all the other super-zoom lenses and all seemed to fall short on both long and short ends. Since this is a brand new lens, there were no reviews to be found. I decided to take the plunge and do my own testing since my local camera shop has a 2 week return policy.

I am an amateur photographer and my testing is by no means scientific. My sole criteria is will this lens do the well enough to leave other lenses behind.

I took several shots with the Tamron 16-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD Macro and compared against a Tamron SP 70-300MM F/4-5.6 Di VC USD for the long to mid-range zoom, a Nikon 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S DX for the mid-range to wide angle, and a Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM for the really wide end. Testing was done on a Nikon D7100.

Many of my test shots were taken on a hillside with lots of trees and a series of high tension lines to determine how sharp the images could be capturing the fine details of several power lines. To make if fair, the camera was tripod mounted.

I was pleasantly surprised to find very acceptable performance in all focal lengths. With a criteria of sharpness and major distortion., the individual lenses compared against this Tamron 16-300 all outperformed the Tamron 16-300, but not by much. Detail is pretty good as the power lines in the images were fairly crisp and I can clearly make out the nuts and bolts on the towers at least 150 feet away at 300mm. In a test macro shot, I can clearly see a fine spider web between leaves in the image taken about 4 feet away.