Printing 8x10 with 4000x6000 image out of the camera

Started Apr 1, 2014 | Discussions
jb61264 New Member • Posts: 1
Printing 8x10 with 4000x6000 image out of the camera

I am pretty new to a lot of this so sorry for such a basic question.

I have a Sony Alpha 65 that gives me 4000x6000 images. I need to get this to print to an 8x10 picture using the entire picture but it seems like I have to crop the picture in order to get it to print to 8x10.

Is there some trick I'm missing to be able to do this?...get the 4000x6000 image from the camera to and 8x10 print?

Thanks,

Jeff

artistguy Senior Member • Posts: 1,175
Re: Printing 8x10 with 4000x6000 image out of the camera

Hi Jeff,

You'll realise that 8x10 can't be 4x6 as that would be an 8x12 ratio. So that said, you need to crop the image to fit 8x10 print. A firly simple way would be to produce a photoshop action or droplet that could open, crop, and save your images as a batch ready for printing. Or, if using LR, create a print template with an 8x10 cell, you can then select all images in a folder to be printed in one go. The salient point is that cropping will be required unless you're happy with a white border.

artistguy's gear list:artistguy's gear list
Panasonic FZ1000 Sony a7R Canon EOS 7D Mark II Canon EF 35mm F2.0 Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM +7 more
Jim Hess Veteran Member • Posts: 5,416

The only way you would be able to include the entire image in an 8 x 10 print from that image would be to have white borders along the long sides of the image. The aspect ratios are not the same. You will either have to do some cropping, or have borders, or have a weirdly distorted image.

Ron AKA Veteran Member • Posts: 4,875

You will have to crop it, or if you send it to a photo lab they will crop it for you. The advantage of cropping it yourself is you can control what parts are left out. Do you have photo editing software? What is it?