Started Mar 27, 2014 | Discussions
Jim Laurel Regular Member • Posts: 215
4/3 Rumors readers want a full frame OMD
photofan1986
photofan1986 Veteran Member • Posts: 3,605
Re: 4/3 Rumors readers want a full frame OMD

New mount and they'd call it "jumbo 4/3"

photofan1986's gear list:photofan1986's gear list
Fujifilm FinePix F200EXR Sony RX100 III Panasonic Lumix DC-G9 Panasonic Lumix G Vario 7-14mm F4 ASPH Panasonic Lumix G 20mm F1.7 ASPH +11 more
William Porter
William Porter Senior Member • Posts: 1,877

My first thought was, April 1st isn't until next week....

But I must be missing something, perhaps because I'm new to micro four-thirds, perhaps because I wasn't too sure what "OM-D" means. Assuming "D" means digital, I do see from the history page on Olympus's site that the original OM series cameras were 35mm. When I first read the report, I thought what people were saying was, "Olympus should make a full-frame micro four-thirds camera," which is kind of like saying Apple should make a medium-format iPhone. But now I see people are just saying that they want Olympus to make a full-frame camera to compete with Canon, Nikon, Sony, and Leica. So I guess I understand what people think they want.

What I don't understand is why anybody thinks this would be a good idea.

Much better idea: Sony and/or Nikon start making m43 cameras....

Will

William Porter's gear list:William Porter's gear list
Panasonic LX100 Sony RX10 IV Fujifilm X100V Fujifilm X-E3 Sony a7 III +12 more
Fleabag
Fleabag Senior Member • Posts: 2,417

Terada "We don’t exclude to go Full Frame one day"

Wallybipster Senior Member • Posts: 1,668
Sometimes I wonder...

Do "full-frame" users ask for a medium format Canikon?

Wallybipster's gear list:Wallybipster's gear list
Olympus E-M5 II Olympus E-M1 II Panasonic Lumix G 20mm F1.7 ASPH Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 40-150mm F4-5.6 R Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm F1.8 +6 more
rpm40
rpm40 Senior Member • Posts: 2,411
Re: Sometimes I wonder...