Need help for shutter speed & aperture

Started Mar 27, 2014 | Questions
Abby729 New Member • Posts: 3
Need help for shutter speed & aperture

I am a newbie. I would like to ask about relationship between shutter speed, aperture & ISO. I often can't get sharp image. I read that I will need to increase shutter speed to prevent blurred image. While taking picture handheld, the shutter speed shouldn't get lesser than 1/50s? I can use 1/50s only when I use f2.8. But sometime I want more objects to be in focus, so I increase aperture, but the shutter speed will then decrease to below 1/50s. I am trying to not using very high ISO as I would like if my photo can be as sharp as possible. If I insist to use more than 1/50s using S mode, then the photo will be lack of light. I am really confused, especially I usually taking indoor photos.

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
all_digital Senior Member • Posts: 2,202
Re: Need help for shutter speed & aperture

If your subject is moving then a faster shutters speed is needed to stop motion. If the subject is not moving then you could use a slower shutter speed and if you have image stabilization you may be able to shoot as low as 1/25 sec.

If you are shooting in low light then the solution is either a tripod for long exposures of still subjects or use of flash,

-- hide signature --

Art

JBurnett Contributing Member • Posts: 835

Abby729 wrote: