Need a calibrator

Started Mar 17, 2014 | Discussions
Zoom71 Regular Member • Posts: 152
Need a calibrator

Hi guys. I've bought a 23" IPS monitor (HP) and i'm looking for a calibrator. I'm debating between ColorMunkie Display and Spyder4Pro. I'm just an amateur. Which of these two models do you recommend me?

Thanks in advance

Best regards

soloryb Senior Member • Posts: 2,255
Re: Need a calibrator

Zoom71 wrote:

Hi guys. I've bought a 23" IPS monitor (HP) and i'm looking for a calibrator. I'm debating between ColorMunkie Display and Spyder4Pro. I'm just an amateur. Which of these two models do you recommend me?

Thanks in advance

Best regards

There's also Xrite's i1Display Pro.

soloryb

soloryb's gear list:soloryb's gear list
Fujifilm FinePix X100 Nikon D800E Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II Nikon AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D +9 more
Ron AKA Veteran Member • Posts: 4,875

Zoom71 wrote:

I use a Spyder4Express with my 24" Asus PA248Q. It seems to work well. This monitor comes custom calibrated from the factory with a test sheet, and the Spyder calibration only changes it by an insignificant amount. I take this to mean both the monitor and calibrator are accurate.

The only limitations I know of for the Express model is that it can only calibrate one monitor on your computer. If you use two monitors then it can't handle it and is not suitable. The second limitation is more minor. It does not measure monitor brightness so you have to set it manually before you start the calibration. I use a nominal graph of brightness vs % setting to approximate 120 cd/m2. The exact setting suitable is dependent on your environment so it is somewhat subjective in any case. There is probably no perfect setting.

No regrets in selecting the Spyder4Express for my needs.

Ron AKA's gear list:Ron AKA's gear list
Sony RX100 Epson Stylus Photo R3000 +1 more
Doublehelix
Doublehelix Senior Member • Posts: 1,026

Zoom71 wrote: