Sony A7 owners

Started Feb 18, 2014 | Discussions
F8minnow Junior Member • Posts: 34
Sony A7 owners

I have been using in camera exposure meters for over 20 years, but I can’t figure out my new Sony A7

If you own a Sony A7 can you please try to help me?

Put you camera in manual mode.

Set your exposure so that your exposure meter is balanced to 0

Then, start to slowly over or under expose the photo.

Inside your viewfinder only

What happens after you pass the +/-2 mark?

Does your camera indicate +/- 3 or 4 or 5?

What indicators does your exposure meter give you when your lets say 6 stops over?

My meter has a +/- 5 stop range but will only indicate up to +/-2, the rest being grayed out, after which point, two flashing arrows appear on both sides of the meter.

Normally, only one arrow should appear, directing you which way to go.

Also note, I do not use auto ISO.

Thanks everyone.

Sony Alpha a7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Richard Ettinger Senior Member • Posts: 1,331
Re: Sony A7 owners

The pointer stops moving at +- 2. why is this such a concern?

the EVF gives you a good idea of what your exposure actually looks like. The histogram also provides adequate data.

you may have bitten off one too many nits.

-- hide signature --

Canon 40D. Canon 50mm f1.4, canon 135mm 2.8/soft focus, Canon 70-200 f4L, Canon 24-105L. Sony Nex-7. Sony a7

Richard Ettinger's gear list:Richard Ettinger's gear list
Sony Alpha a7 II Sony Alpha a7R II Leica Elmarit-M 28mm f/2.8 ASPH Leica APO-Summicron-M 90mm f/2 ASPH Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM +7 more
stevo23 Forum Pro • Posts: 18,952

F8minnow wrote:

I have been using in camera exposure meters for over 20 years, but I can’t figure out my new Sony A7

If you own a Sony A7 can you please try to help me?

Put you camera in manual mode.

Set your exposure so that your exposure meter is balanced to 0

Then, start to slowly over or under expose the photo.