Suggestion for studio strobe 1000w to 1200w?

Started Feb 3, 2014 | Discussions
andyus08 Contributing Member • Posts: 634
Suggestion for studio strobe 1000w to 1200w?

Hi,

I'm looking to the Elinchrom rx 1200. However, it's way above my budget. So i'm looking for the other alternative. However, i'm pretty  new to the studio equipment and look for your expertise and suggestion.

So, my question is whether other good brands of studio strobe with 1000w or above? Any link would be greatly appreciated.

THanks.

adamba Contributing Member • Posts: 732
Re: Suggestion for studio strobe 1000w to 1200w?
 adamba's gear list:adamba's gear list
Nikon D600 Sony a6300 Sony a7 III Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II +6 more
Duncan C Veteran Member • Posts: 7,674

andyus08 wrote:

Hi,

I'm looking to the Elinchrom rx 1200. However, it's way above my budget. So i'm looking for the other alternative. However, i'm pretty new to the studio equipment and look for your expertise and suggestion.

So, my question is whether other good brands of studio strobe with 1000w or above? Any link would be greatly appreciated.

THanks.

Here in the US people swear by Paul Buff's lights for good quality at an affordable price, combined with outstanding customer service.

I've never used them, but have been reading about them with interest for several years on this and other sites.

If you really need 1000+ watt-seconds (Flash is measured in watt-seconds, not watts) then you'll want the White Lightning 3200. It goes up to 1320 WS. Beware that that is GOBS of light.

Link:

http://www.paulcbuff.com/x3200.php

-- hide signature --

Regards,
Duncan C
dpreview and PBase supporter.

http://www.pbase.com/duncanc
My macro gallery:
http://www.pbase.com/duncanc/macro_pictures&page=all

Sailor Blue
Sailor Blue Forum Pro • Posts: 15,528

Unless you are trying to overpower the midday sun or use an 8' octobox while using ISO 100 you don't need 1200Ws of strobe power.