Wanting to learn how to take photos of milky way/stars

Started Dec 1, 2013 | Questions
Dootsie20 New Member • Posts: 5
Wanting to learn how to take photos of milky way/stars

Hello, I'm fairly new to photography, I have some experience. However I was wondering, if it is possible for me, with a Fuji-Film FineFix s8200 camera, to take photos of the milky way/stars. I've done some research, but most have exposures of high amount of seconds. However my camera only has a exposure time of 8 seconds, and no bulb feature.  Has anybody achieved good photos, along the lines of my problems/limitations? Also what would be a good photo editing software to help with getting a good shot of the milky way? Preferably low-cost. Thanks.

Dootsie20's gear list:Dootsie20's gear list
Fujifilm FinePix S8200 Pentax K-01
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
starman1969
starman1969 Veteran Member • Posts: 4,425
Bigger sensor

I'm afraid due to the very small sensor that the Fuji has it is very limited in low light. Whilst it is a fine camera for day use, the limits of the sensor come in when you try to take nightscapes. The 8 second max shutter speed is probably due to the sensor heating up quickly. If you try to image the Milky Way with it you would need to push it to it's limits. Highest ISO and 8 second shutter speed. You may capture something but it would look very noisy, I expect.

You would be better off with a Micro 4/3 camera, or maybe a Sony NEX-5. The latter is a proven astro camera. Failing those, try a dslr like a Nikon D5100 or a Canon 1100d with kit lens. Both superb for astrophotography.

-- hide signature --

They are watching us......

starman1969's gear list:starman1969's gear list
Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm F1.8G Nikon D850 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II Epson Stylus Pro 3880 +1 more
bidule5 Regular Member • Posts: 115
Re: Wanting to learn how to take photos of milky way/stars