Two months with the X-E1

Started Aug 2, 2013 | Discussions
Harry S Regular Member • Posts: 434
Two months with the X-E1

My X-E1 was bought to replace my bulky Sony DSLR gear in June, mainly because it's a big year for us with lots of holiday plans coming up, including our honeymoon part 1 (two weeks around South West USA, late August) and part 2 (New York in October) so I wanted to travel light without sacrificing image quality. I'm also a motorsport photographer, as it happens, but I've been winding that down for some time now so figured the X-E1 would signal a clean break...how wrong was I!

Just browsing through the following link puts a smile on my face, particularly thinking about every time I've read someone saying with with supposed authority what these cameras supposedly can't do...

X-E1 Flickr Set

A trip to London for a few days, so fairly standard stuff for the X-E1, the little 18-55mm performed brilliantly...

X-E1, 18-55mm

X-E1, 18-55mm

A day to the Royal International Air Tattoo. I was probably most apprehensive about this, planes flying at a few hundred miles per hour, 200mm max, a bit of EVF lag, but once again I need not have worried, it performed surprisingly well all day...

X-E1, 55-200mm

X-E1, 55-200mm

Finally a bit of motorsport, I pretty much just started taking it along 'just incase', but in the few events I've attended I've taken some of my favourite shots for a number of years. My hit rate is very solid and I've not gone anywhere near burst mode, it just seems to lock on instantly...

X-E1, 55-200mm

X-E1, 55-200mm

X-E1, 55-200mm