Camera sales are falling and it's partially our fault.

Started Aug 2, 2013 | Discussions
(unknown member) Veteran Member • Posts: 5,590
Camera sales are falling and it's partially our fault.

No doubt many of you have read the article - http://www.dpreview.com/news/2013/08/01/camera-shipments-2013-CIPA

Depressing reading! Of course there may be many reasons for this including the often repeated impact of smartphones and in many regions a less than buoyant economy but perhaps one of the major reasons is just us.

By us I mean the typical 'enthusiast' that lurks around forums such as these.

Given the nit picking, jargon using, back biting, photographer jacket wearing, brand defending, DxO data repeating, 100% viewing, DR criticising, armchair experts in marketing, trust me I'm an expert-ing, cat and duck photographing, bokeh examining .................. and general willy waving - why would most newcomers, especially younger people, have the slightest interest in becoming part of that rather sad image?

Cope
Cope Veteran Member • Posts: 6,328
Re: Camera sales are falling and it's partially our fault.

Most amateur photographers do not frequent web forums, so any conversation here is not likely to affect their purchase habits.  I can tell you that I bought my wife a Nikon Coolpix S4000 a couple of years ago, and the battery will not hold a charge for more than a week.  Because of this, and because she has an iPhone 4, I am hesitant to buy another P&S and risk low battery life when she has a phone that will run all day and take good pictures.  I believe smart phones are the main issue here.

-- hide signature --

Never ask a man where he's from. If he is from Texas, he'll tell you. Otherwise, don't embarrass him.

Cope's gear list:Cope's gear list
Nikon D7000 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm F1.8G Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G VR Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Sigma 150mm F2.8 EX DG Macro HSM +3 more
Dave Lively Senior Member • Posts: 1,805