6D birds in flight

Started May 3, 2013 | Discussions
mike clemens Regular Member • Posts: 118
6D birds in flight

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to shooting moving things. I am using a 6D with a 300mm f/2.8 IS-1 with a 1.4 EF II converter.

I have switched the cam to AI SERVO focus, and I use the button on the back of the cam  AF-ON and hold it in the entire time I am following along the bird(s). This works pretty well though initial acquisition can be painful sometimes.

1) I would like to turn off the focus feature on the shutter button, so it only operates the shutter, but right now it wants to focus too. This is the correct thing to do, right?

2) I have been using central point only, is this wise or can using all points be a good thing with BIF?

3) Can I stuff all these settings onto some kind of custom-settings slot? Sort of a pain to switch between kids/single shot, where I would want the shutter button to do all its default stuff, and this mode above I'm desiring?

Thx for any insight... i think i am on the right track and have been getting some good results,  just looking to cash in on any experience other people might share.

Mike in Alaska

Sandhill Cranes in flight

Canon EOS 6D Fujifilm FinePix IS-1
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
qianp2k Forum Pro • Posts: 10,350
Re: 6D birds in flight

Nice shot, BIF in formation.  I am envious you are living in a place with many big birds and bald eagles

-- hide signature --
Schwany
Schwany Forum Pro • Posts: 10,129

mike clemens wrote:

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to shooting moving things. I am using a 6D with a 300mm f/2.8 IS-1 with a 1.4 EF II converter.

I have switched the cam to AI SERVO focus, and I use the button on the back of the cam  AF-ON and hold it in the entire time I am following along the bird(s). This works pretty well though initial acquisition can be painful sometimes.