Headshot C&C Please

Started Feb 22, 2013 | Discussions
decimusmaximus7
decimusmaximus7 Regular Member • Posts: 345
Headshot C&C Please

After watching this video by Peter Hurley:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qe3oJnFtA_k&list=UUsG5ZXkZpWhaa71Xi2zC2HQ&index=26

I practiced my head tilt.

Then I decided to practice my PP, focusing on toning down my images that some people think are too vivid.

Here are my final images. 1 with no added contrast and vibrancy, and 1 with a lesser amount of contrast and vibrancy than I usually use.

Please give your opinions on anything you feel, but especially the PP.

Thanks!

decimusmaximus7's gear list:decimusmaximus7's gear list
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX10 Konica Minolta Maxxum 5D Sony Alpha NEX-5N Sony a77 II Sony Alpha a7R II +37 more
KHorn
KHorn Junior Member • Posts: 39
Re: Headshot C&C Please

Nice face, my only comment would be lighting is too head on.  I'm no expert by any stretch but maybe 30 degrees left.

KHorn's gear list:KHorn's gear list
Sony Alpha DSLR-A560 Tamron AF 18-200mm F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro +1 more
Steve West Veteran Member • Posts: 5,742

I recently put up my first studios in the portrait forum. I got lots of great comments which helped my next attempts come out much better.

From that experience, things I'd say are:

1. The WB is off

2. You should have a strong key light off to the side, and then your fill light should be next to the camera and relatively weak.

3. You need a reflector below to stop the shadow on your neck.

4. f/2.5 is too open, and I'm not sure what lens you are using, but it looks very soft. Probably want at least f/4.

5. I think there is too much light on the hair. If it was just highlighted, it would give the photo a more 3D look.

It is amazing how much good a head tilt does on a portrait!

-- hide signature --
 Steve West's gear list:Steve West's gear list