EF 70-200 f/4L USM with EOS 60D - any experiences?

Started Feb 9, 2013 | Discussions
holzlondon New Member • Posts: 7
EF 70-200 f/4L USM with EOS 60D - any experiences?

Just bought the above lens to go with my 60D as an everyday Zoom for landscape and other uses.  I'm well aware of the fact that the lense has no image stabilisation, so I know when and where to use it.

I'm no pro, and still relatively new to the digital SLR photography, but was quite disappointed with the lacking clarity that the EF 70-300 f/4-5.6 IS USM produced.

Going on holiday to Dubai in 2 days, so will try it in as many situations as I can, but I thought I would ask the community if anyone out there has any worthwhile experiences and tips.

24Peter
24Peter Veteran Member • Posts: 3,132
Re: EF 70-200 f/4L USM with EOS 60D - any experiences?

I used that lens with a 40D for a period of time. But eventually I sold it (got almost what I paid after having it for two years) and got the IS version. You've probably heard all the opinions and clearly have one of your own, but for me the IS version is so much more useful. I was limited to 1/400th or faster shutter speeds with the non-IS version (shakey hands?)

The only downside to the IS version (and I think also the non-IS version) is the MFD. I find this a real hinderance at times. I'll often use an extension tube just to get a reasonable focus distance. I believe the 2.8 IS VII is better in terms of MFD - if I could afford it, I would probably sell my F4 IS for that lens.

qianp2k Forum Pro • Posts: 10,350

I own 70-200L/4.0 IS l ens that is a bit sharper and has 'IS'.

-- hide signature --
Craig76 Regular Member • Posts: 255

Here are a couple of my shots with that camera and lens combination. The 60D handles noise pretty well, the band shot was under extremely low light at 200mm F/4 ISO 2,500. I've included a 100% crop of it to show the sharpness and noise level also.