MFT lens communication protocol?

Started Feb 5, 2013 | Discussions
t_andersen Junior Member • Posts: 29
MFT lens communication protocol?

I am an engineer and I dream of making an adapter that interfaces both mechanically and electronically between MFT cameras and Nikon or Canon lenses. There are plenty of such lenses around and using these lenses with the small MFT field will lead to even better image quality.

Does anybody have information on the MFT lens communication protocol, or does someone have heavily damaged lenses that I can use for reverse engineering?

texinwien Veteran Member • Posts: 3,326
Micro Four-Thirds is an Open Standard

There should be no need to reverse engineer anything. The standard is open. A good place to start looking would probably be on the official Micro Four-Thirds web site.

tex

texinwien's gear list:texinwien's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM5 Olympus E-M5 II Olympus 12-40mm F2.8 OnePlus One Canon EOS 300D +20 more
OP t_andersen Junior Member • Posts: 29
Re: Micro Four-Thirds is an Open Standard

I do not think that the standard is entirely open. I have not found any communication protocol but I would of course be glad if someone could direct me to it.

Detail Man
Detail Man Forum Pro • Posts: 16,789

t_andersen wrote:

I do not think that the standard is entirely open. I have not found any communication protocol but I would of course be glad if someone could direct me to it.

(As you likely have found), the information at the Micro Four Thirds site referenced is entirely vague - nothing even remotely close to the kind of hardware specifics that you are seeking and needing.

yonsito Regular Member • Posts: 128

I don't think it's an open standard, either. But they do list an email contact for manufacturers (four-thirds@ot.olympus.co.jp).

I'd say just write to them and see what happens. If they demand payment up front in unmarked notes, you can still reconsider.