Am I doing something wrong? Sony A57

Started Jan 31, 2013 | Discussions
JajoB New Member • Posts: 6
Am I doing something wrong? Sony A57

Hey all,

Returned a Nikon D5100 for a Sony A57, and here I am.  I had intended on buying the NEX5R, but after playing with the A57 in the store, I had to have it.

I've been playing around with it a little, and am still learning (I'm very new to the DSLR/T world).  My pictures of stationary objects have come out great, but capturing my son on photo is a little more difficult.

I came here to ask, what the heck is going on with this picture?  The graininess is terrible, and his skin doesn't look smooth; it looks plastic.  What is going on here? Check out the graininess around his nose and mouth.  Am I expecting too much from the camera?  Or do I just need more practice?

NEX5R Nikon D5100 Sony SLT-A57
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
HobbiesAreFun
HobbiesAreFun Senior Member • Posts: 2,457
Re: Am I doing something wrong? Sony A57

You don't include exif data in the image, so I can't tell you if the settings were operator error, camera error, etc.

From the looks of it, you shot a jpeg file with noise reduction turned up, shot it at a low resolution, with a not-fast-enough lens in relatively poor lighting conditions. All of which contribute to the final problems.

-- hide signature --

-Eric (17 years old with tons of things I can't wait to learn)
http://eswenson.smugmug.com

HobbiesAreFun's gear list:HobbiesAreFun's gear list
Nikon D800E Nikon AF-S Nikkor 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF Samyang 14mm F2.8 IF ED MC Aspherical Sigma 50-500mm F4.5-6.3 DG OS HSM Nikon AF-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED +3 more
TrojMacReady
TrojMacReady Veteran Member • Posts: 8,725

JajoB wrote:

Hey all,

Returned a Nikon D5100 for a Sony A57, and here I am. I had intended on buying the NEX5R, but after playing with the A57 in the store, I had to have it.