Sony A37 vs Canon SX50

Started Jan 24, 2013 | Discussions
Scooturz New Member • Posts: 9
Sony A37 vs Canon SX50

Hi first post on this forum!

Got a Sony A37 for Christmas and I have enjoyed using it so far.  I am a novice to 'real' photography only having used point and shoots before.  I  like to take all the usual family photos but my favorite subjects are landscapes and wildlife.  I live on the lake which is always changing and we have many birds and wildlife that visit us.  So far my daughter has blown me out of the water in our home based photo competitions! She uses a canon powershot sx50 also new this Christmas.  The zoom on that camera is incredible and I feel some buyers regret in getting the sony.  I did lots of research before buying the sony but this was comparing with other SLR types sop didn't even look at the canon. Can anyone reassure me I made the right choice!

Sony SLT-A37
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Stflbn Veteran Member • Posts: 3,504
Re: Sony A37 vs Canon SX50

You cannot compare a Superzoom compact camera to a DSLR (SLT) unless you invest in a comparable length zoom for the DSLR and that costs  $,$$$

The Sony's performance  (as with any removable lens camera) is directly tied to the quality of the lens, and the commitment of the user to learn to use both effectively.

Stflbn's gear list:Stflbn's gear list
Sony RX100 V Sony RX10 IV Sony a7R II Sony FE 50mm F1.8 Sony FE 85mm F1.8 +2 more
Draek
Draek Senior Member • Posts: 2,028

Which lenses do you own? the 1200mm-e lens on the SX50 isn't easy to match on an SLR, but I believe the Sony 55-300 would help matters tremendously when doing wildlife, particularly if all you own is the 18-55 or 18-135 kit lenses.

Besides that, though, do remember that cameras don't take photos, photographers do, and it might just be that your daughter is a natural at this hey, it's happened to many of us, nothing else to do other than feel proud of her