A flash decision - do I need TTL?

Started Jan 13, 2013 | Discussions
Tckay Contributing Member • Posts: 569
A flash decision - do I need TTL?

Hi,

Im just beginning to use flash. I have an A57 and currently use the onboard flash with a self made bounce card. I would like an external flash and can't decide between the Yongnuo 560ii or the Metz 50 Af-1, the difference between them is that the Yongnuo is half the price (£55 vs £129) but does not have TTL capability.

As a beginner i'm interested to know how necessary others find this function. I genreally photograph my chiidren/pets, indoors with large aperture.

Thanks for any advice.

Tckay's gear list:Tckay's gear list
Nikon D800 Olympus OM-D E-M10 Tamron SP 24-70mm F2.8 Di VC USD Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD +3 more
Sony SLT-A57
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Ray Maines
Ray Maines Veteran Member • Posts: 3,954
do I need TTL? -- YES!!

Tckay wrote:

I would like an external flash and can't decide between ... the difference between them is that the Yongnuo is half the price ... but does not have TTL capability.

As a beginner i'm interested to know how necessary others find this function.

You totally need TTL. Don't even think about buying the cheaper flash. You can thank me later.

-- hide signature --

Buy books, not gear.
Tacoma, Washington, USA

Ray Maines's gear list:Ray Maines's gear list
Sony a6300 Tamron SP AF 90mm F/2.8 Di Macro Sony 70-300mm F4.5-5.6 G SSM Sony E 10-18mm F4 OSS Sony E 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 PZ OSS +13 more
OP Tckay Contributing Member • Posts: 569
Re: do I need TTL? -- YES!!

Ray Maines wrote:

Tckay wrote:

I would like an external flash and can't decide between ... the difference between them is that the Yongnuo is half the price ... but does not have TTL capability.

As a beginner i'm interested to know how necessary others find this function.