New to digital photography...software question

Started Jan 5, 2013 | Questions
davepic New Member • Posts: 12
New to digital photography...software question

Hello...just recently purchased my first digital dslr, the Canon Rebel T3i with the 18-55 kit lens. I also have a couple of older lenses from my old film Rebel. I have never used any photo editing software before.

The camera came with the Canon Digital Solutions disk. Is this a good program  to start learning about processing images or should I really try something like Photoshop Elements or Lightshop? Should i start shooting RAW images or go with jpeg to begin with? Also are there any good tutorials online for beginners? Thank you for your help.

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Canon EOS 600D (EOS Rebel T3i / EOS Kiss X5)
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
DSHAPK Contributing Member • Posts: 782
Re: New to digital photography...software question

There is a lot to learn with your first DSLR.

As far as instructionsals, there is an abundance of information on the interwebs regarding Canon DSLRs...a lot of information applies equally across the board to the t2i, t3i, and t4i. You can find this information by searching.

People recommend Brian Petersons, "Understand Exposure" and then there is the Unofficial Rebel FAQ on dpreview.

I would read the user manual from cover to cover as a start.

The question of software, I think, is too early to ask. You have to get used to the camera. DPP the provided software works well for post processing and is free. The others you mentioned you have to pay for. After two years with the T2i and now the T4i, I only use DPP. I downloaded LR and it wasn't worth for me to learn.