Pancake lens for E-PL1

Started Jan 3, 2013 | Discussions
pannayar Regular Member • Posts: 213
Pancake lens for E-PL1

Newbie here.  Purchased a used E-PL1 (with the kit 14-42 lens) recently.  Though the camera produces very nice images in good light, the kits lens seems to be very inadequate for indoor / night light shots (which is my primary shooting need).  I do have the Panasonic LX7 which is fast in low light but I am somewhat unsatisfied with its noise levels.

What would be a good (and economical) lens for indoors.  I have been reading about the Panasonic Lumix G 20mm f/1.7 lens.  I like the F/1.7 and think it should give me fast exposure times indoor.  The price of about $300 seems me deter me a bit :(.  Since it is a panasonic lens, will it fit the PL1?  Will I need any adapter?

Any other lens suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks!

Olympus PEN E-PL1 Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
s_grins
s_grins Forum Pro • Posts: 11,775
Re: Pancake lens for E-PL1

pannayar wrote:

Newbie here. Purchased a used E-PL1 (with the kit 14-42 lens) recently. Though the camera produces very nice images in good light, the kits lens seems to be very inadequate for indoor / night light shots (which is my primary shooting need). I do have the Panasonic LX7 which is fast in low light but I am somewhat unsatisfied with its noise levels.

What would be a good (and economical) lens for indoors. I have been reading about the Panasonic Lumix G 20mm f/1.7 lens. I like the F/1.7 and think it should give me fast exposure times indoor. The price of about $300 seems me deter me a bit :(. Since it is a panasonic lens, will it fit the PL1? Will I need any adapter?

Thanks!

If you like 1.7, 20/1.7 is your lens. Other pancakes are not that fast, or they are not pancakes and more expensive than 20/1.7 And you do not need adapter

-- hide signature --

Looking for equilibrium...