Shooting Birds in Flight...What works for you?

Started Dec 2, 2012 | Discussions
yp Senior Member • Posts: 2,200
Shooting Birds in Flight...What works for you?

Hi...Next spring I will be teaching a "class" on shooting birds in flight. I am self-taught so I have found what works best for me...not necessarily the best technique.

I generally shoot in Shutter priority so that I can set speed needed; will then adjust ISO as needed. Aperture is the least "important" setting. I shoot in continuous drive mode, single focus point on center. Generally I will half press for focus ...then track ....and shoot.

Taken during a Bird of Prey show using Nikon D3 70-200mm

In the reading that I've done lately I see that many photographers use Manual mode.

I'm just curious what technique do you use? What has worked/not worked?

Thanks for your input...Yvonne

Nikon D3
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
sailaway78
sailaway78 Regular Member • Posts: 233
Re: Shooting Birds in Flight...What works for you?

If you have a bunch of newbies I would emphasize two things first. Patience and practice.  And to tell them to not expect instant results, nor a high percentage of keepers.

-- hide signature --

I want to go to my grave, tires bald, fenders knocked off, out of gas, and yelling, WOW what a ride.

kayaker353 Senior Member • Posts: 1,217
Here's what I do

I normally shoot aperature priority, trying for f8 or a little smaller.  I check the shutter speed to see if it is fast enough (1/1000, or so is good) and adjust ISO as needed.  All of these seetings are critical for success, its just a matter of which one you feel most important to control the value of.  I also use single point autofocus.  I leave it at center between shoots and adjust as neccessary/possible when actually following a BIF.  By the way, what area is your class in?

kayaker353's gear list:kayaker353's gear list