K-01 firmware update - how great is that?

Started Oct 24, 2012 | Discussions
Daedbird Regular Member • Posts: 221
K-01 firmware update - how great is that?

So I have been waiting for some response on here about K-01 owners and their thoughts on the new firmware update and what they think of their cameras now.

I am a K-01 newbie, just gotten a great deal on one a few weeks ago. In fact, I got it a few days before the firmware was released. When I first tried out the camera, some of the reasons I waited (until I got a deal) before buying showed up. Slow AF, rolling shutter - things that got it panned in nearly every review which seemed to have the same qualifier "if you have Pentax lenses, it may make sense for you."

After the firmware update - and getting a feel for the camera - I have to say this is the most disrespected cameras out today. The AF is now fast, at least faster than my K-10. I am really surprised at how fast it can throw through the range of a long lens like my Tamron 70-200 2.8. I will have to see how things go in a darker atmosphere, but students on a poorly lit stage did not give it any problems.

As far as the rolling shutter issue, I kind of think this was overblown, at least from my testing. I get rolling shutter more if I have SR running. I turn SR off, it practically disappears. But SR really does a good job of reducing shake in video mode.

In all, my only concern is the grip on the camera - it feels slightly unnatural right now, but maybe I will grow accustom to it over time - I just wish it was shaped with a real grip.

Pentax K-01
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
leopold Forum Pro • Posts: 14,083
Re: K-01 firmware update - how great is that?

Hi,

i'm not using AF a lot with my K-01, i mainly use it in MF because of the focus peaking. Some lenses are faster now, others show less improvements but it was worth the update!

More responsive now and still very accurate.