Likw some comments on my printing write-up

Started Oct 1, 2012 | Discussions
Ben_Egbert Forum Pro • Posts: 20,228
Likw some comments on my printing write-up

I just posted this write-up to my website and would like some comments. If you spot an error please let me know.

http://ben-egbert-photo.com/?page_id=790

-- hide signature --

What I see when I open the image and view it at 100% is very important to my overall attitude toward a final print. When I look at the print I know what’s there and what I had to do to get there. For me, good enough does not work.

http://ben-egbert.smugmug.com/

Ben

Ben_Egbert's gear list:Ben_Egbert's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Canon EF 16-35mm F2.8L II USM Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM Canon TS-E 17mm f/4L Samyang 14mm F2.8 IF ED MC Aspherical +1 more
jeffsw6 New Member • Posts: 24
Re: Likw some comments on my printing write-up

I am a total novice and I found your write-up informative.

If I could make one suggestion, there is a lot of arithmetic in the first section. If I didn't already know about print resolution -- I have met some photographers who don't really get it -- I don't think I would be helped by the way you explain it.

Perhaps a picture or diagram with measuring rules to show the number of pixels along an axis if the print is 16.5" and how many more pixels there would be, or less dots-per-inch with the restriction of the original photograph, if you could print 20".

OP Ben_Egbert Forum Pro • Posts: 20,228

Thanks good feedback. I am not sure I can add diagrams because I don't have a drawing program but I could do a more detailed math formula.

For example I could say that you divide the print inches into the camera resolution to obtain PPI. Then show an example.

-- hide signature --

What I see when I open the image and view it at 100% is very important to my overall attitude toward a final print. When I look at the print I know what’s there and what I had to do to get there. For me, good enough does not work.