A77 v A99 fps dilemma.

Started Sep 27, 2012 | Discussions
ozgoldman Contributing Member • Posts: 618
A77 v A99 fps dilemma.

Like many I have been waiting for the A99 for some time. I was going to buy the A77 as it was a substantial upgrade from my A55, but decided to wait for the A99.

I am the unofficial photographer for my daughter’s school, and most of the pics I take relate to extensive movement (eg. Sports activities), where the 10 fps on my A55 is used a great deal.

However, I noticed that when using this facility with subjects approaching the camera quickly the continuous focus was somewhat wanting.
With the A77 going to 12 fps that would suit better.

I have no experience with the A77 but suspect that the continuous focus may also be lacking in some respects using fps mode. Hopefully others using the A77 can enlighten me in this respect.

In view of the A99 dropping back to 6fps, possibly this is as good as the technology is at the moment for continuous focus to be accurate, for the funds required to buy this camera.

I guess I could go to higher level Canon, Nikon, but would prefer to remain with Sony in view of the G lenses that I already have.

Can those with more experience with the A77, A99 give me some advice as to the quality of results from A77 and A99 using the fps facility thanks.

-- hide signature --

ozgoldman

ozgoldman's gear list:ozgoldman's gear list
Sony SLT-A77 Sony a77 II
Sony Alpha a99 Sony SLT-A55 Sony SLT-A77
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
linzdoctor7d Contributing Member • Posts: 924
Re: Soccer shot with a77 at 12fps!
 linzdoctor7d's gear list:linzdoctor7d's gear list
Minolta DiMAGE A1 Minolta DiMAGE 7 Konica Minolta Maxxum 7D Sony SLT-A77 Sony Alpha DSLR-A100 +29 more
Glenn Veteran Member • Posts: 7,877
Re: A77 v A99 fps dilemma.