"Future Proofing"? - or just buy for the moment?

Started Sep 14, 2012 | Discussions
Bearum New Member • Posts: 2
"Future Proofing"? - or just buy for the moment?

I'm just about to bite the bullet and purchase a D7000. With the recent price drops and a generous leaving gift from the job I just left, it seems silly not to.

It's going to be my first DSLR, which I'm hoping will be a dramatic improvement from the Panasonic FZ50 I've been using for the last six years. Even if a D7100 or 7200 is around the corner, I'm not going to be feeling remotely lacking with the 7000 given where I'm coming from.

I'll be getting the kit lens with it, and I'm also planning on getting the 35mm 1.8G DX. (Unless someone feels like persuading me otherwise?)

My question is this:

If, in five or ten years, (or sooner!), I want to go FX, are there sensible, reasonably priced lens choices I can make that will leave the upgrade smooth and painless?

I guess what I'm saying is that I'd like to be able to buy mostly FX lenses for my DX camera over the next few years, in the hope that at some point I will move on to an FX body and won't then have to buy a load of new lenses.

What trade-offs would I be making in terms of price/performance by using mostly FX lenses on a DX body? Are there any DX lenses which don't have an FX equivalent?

Generally, and opinions or recommendations?

Thanks for reading!

Nikon D7000 Nikon D7100 Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
JamesRL Senior Member • Posts: 2,343
Re: "Future Proofing"? - or just buy for the moment?

Again I see a fixation with full frame, when for the vast majority of photographers, the current generation of crop sensors are more than adequate for their needs. There are many pros who shoot great shots with crop cameras. Just check out the D300 forums and the D7000 forums for example.