Need to buy a new camera-I have done my HW

Started Sep 11, 2012 | Discussions
Jimothy H Forum Member • Posts: 57
Need to buy a new camera-I have done my HW

Hello Everyone,

I'm a 1st year photography student at New Zealand. I'm not a pro, so I'd put myself as a beginner.

I currently have a Nikon D80 with a Nikkor 28~70mm f3.5-4.5 & sigma 70~210mm f 4-5.6. Since all my equipments are old, I don't mind to start it fresh-as in change to another camera system.

I'm thinking to upgrade my camera at the end of the year, I have listed my options alone with my thoughts. My budget is about $5500. I want a walk around DSLR and a semi-pro body as well. I hope you guys can help me to decide or give me some comments.

This what I'm looking for (the most important goes on top):
1. Auto focus-how many there are in total and how many of them are cross type
2. "Eco-system"
3. Image quality
4. Ergonomics
5. Burst rate
6. The specs (mega pixels, number of custom presents you can have...etc)
7. Price

1. Sony:

I really like Sony's slt technology. It gives Sony's camera good video capabilities, fast burst rate, fast auto focus. It also has many fancy functions, such as artificial horizon, HDR...etc. They are pretty well priced too.
My problem with Sony cameras are:
1. EVF-It is very troublesome for studio work.
2. Confusing menu.

3. Small "eco system". There is hardly anyone out there that uses Sony. It's very hard to borrow equipments from classmates, friends and family members.

If I do gonna buy Sony gear , they will be A57 and A77. I don't know much about Sony's lenses, so I'm not too sure what to buy yet.

2. Nikon:

Buy a Nikon camera seems like an obvious choice, after all I already have Nikon equipments. I really like how Nikon layout all the buttons and dials, simple menu operations, and superb image quality. It seems like Nikon cameras are cheaper than Canon this year as well.