GX1 vs Oly

Started Aug 22, 2012 | Discussions
skpman Regular Member • Posts: 206
GX1 vs Oly

First of all, I hope I don't start a flame war here.. but I'm in a bit of a dilemma.

I grabbed the GX1 on the $399 Amazon deal of the day sale. it was a bit of an impulse buy, as I was originally planning on going LX-5 or RX100 (pocketable). I'm new to photography, this is pretty much my first camera.

Since the purchase, I've been REALLY enjoying this camera (started with 20mm, added 12-50mm Oly lens). I spend hours everyday reading photo techniques and news.

Anyways, to the question:

What are the key differences between Oly and Pana? Which is considered better in the same price range?

From reading a little, it seems Oly has in-body IS and pana is in-lens. Oly has better JPEG. Pana has better AF.

I was considering getting a cheap E-PL1 body from my kid brother, but now I'm considering saving a bit and splurging on the OMD for myself, and getting my brother a GF1 or GH1 (I want to stay cross-brand for cameras, just for flexibility and comparison). What do you guys think?

Olympus PEN E-PL1 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF1 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH1 Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1 Sony RX100
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
pinnacle Senior Member • Posts: 2,539
Slow down a bit...

The GX1 is a very nice camera and I recommend that you hang on for a while, enjoying what the GX1 can do.

From what I can see looking at many of the m43rds lens groups on Flickr, the GX1 is producing very nice images.

I would think more about possible lens acquisitions and fine tuning your skillet with the multitude of features that the GX1 has to offer.
Dan
--

Will I learn from life's lessons or will I lose my faith in the goodness life's promise had to offer?

pinnacle's gear list:pinnacle's gear list
Fujifilm X-M1 Fujifilm X-T1 Fujifilm XF 35mm F1.4 R Fujifilm XF 55-200mm F3.5-4.8 R LM OIS Fujifilm XF 60mm F2.4 R Macro +2 more