Was wondering about selling photographs?

Started Aug 20, 2012 | Discussions
james2k50
james2k50 Contributing Member • Posts: 573
Was wondering about selling photographs?

There are those of you here who are professional photographers and some not so much. I would like some honest opinions while you to look at my galleries, to tell me what you think. Do you think some of this work could sell? I also have the originals of each photograph in an unedited state so to sell without postprocessing.

I was an artist in paints and sketches long before I started photography. So for me, this avenue is a given that I would try to excel in photography. I would like opinions on my composition and choice of subject. Give me some honest input about my processing and if you feel that I'm on the right track with my work. Not so interested in portrait obviously.. For those of you who are wondering, I do have a day job It would be nice to generate some revenue so that I could purchase my next camera body a camera slush fund if you will...

http://forums.dpreview.com/galleries/1774833306/albums/sony-alpha-a230-images

james2k50's gear list:james2k50's gear list
Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Sony SLT-A35 Sony SLT-A65
Deleted1929 Forum Pro • Posts: 13,050
Re: Was wondering about selling photographs?

For those of you who are wondering, I do have a day job It would be nice to generate some revenue so that I could purchase my next camera body a camera slush fund if you will...

Typically it's easier to make more money by doing overtime or similar. You could put that in your slush fund.

Literally everyone who has a camera thinks they can sell their images and make money.

Do you think some of this work could sell?

Selling requires more than a product, it requires a way to sell.

Think of it this way. What would lead someone to purchase your images instead of the millions of other images out there ?

-- hide signature --

StephenG

Biological_Viewfinder Senior Member • Posts: 2,207