Looking for feedback: HDR

Started Jul 30, 2012 | Discussions
TheVoid Senior Member • Posts: 1,724
Looking for feedback: HDR

I am new at HDR and would like some feedback on this attempt...I am happy with the composition but am curious what PP improvements are recommended by those with more experience in this area. I realize this is all subjective and only I can decide what the best result is for me -- but please be honest and tell me how you would have done this differently?

(5 images from RAW merged in Photomatix, then adjusted for saturation & levels in CS4)

Many thanks,
--
Jeremy

TheVoid's gear list:TheVoid's gear list
Sony Alpha DSLR-A580 Sony a77 II Tokina AT-X Pro 11-16mm f/2.8 DX Sony DT 16-50mm F2.8 SSM Sony 70-400mm F4-5.6 G SSM II +2 more
tchuanye Veteran Member • Posts: 3,895
Re: Looking for feedback: HDR

Looks good to me.

Really depends what look you want to create. It does look like a HDR pic. Perhaps more contrast?

I am also new, and am trying for HDR that does not look THAT HDR....works for some, but does not work for all.

tchuanye's gear list:tchuanye's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ10 Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ30 Canon PowerShot S95 Sony Alpha DSLR-A550 Sony SLT-A77 +10 more
OP TheVoid Senior Member • Posts: 1,724

I think you've captured my goal as well -- trying for HDR that isn't screaming "HDR." Nice landscape images with shadow and highlight detail, but not overcooked "tore this out of my free calendar" images.
--
Jeremy

Sony Alpha DSLR-A580 Sony a77 II Tokina AT-X Pro 11-16mm f/2.8 DX Sony DT 16-50mm F2.8 SSM Sony 70-400mm F4-5.6 G SSM II +2 more
UtahManSir Veteran Member • Posts: 4,659

Everything looks OK....ish.... but the sky is a tell all. (I'm guilty of this too believe me!

I would try bringing up a levels adjustment layer and moving the black point slider to the right a smidge, and then moving the Grey point slider to somewhere between .8 & .9

That and a little contrast bump will help. I think...