Canon 18-135mm STM Lens - Got it!

Started Jul 22, 2012 | Discussions
englishman
MOD englishman Contributing Member • Posts: 944
Canon 18-135mm STM Lens - Got it!

I finally got the t4i and the 18-135mm STM lens. I am excited to test the kit out tomorrow (specifically I want to see how this lens performs). I will report back with my findings (I'm no expert). If anyone wants to know anything specific, let me know. I will try to accommodate.

englishman
OP MOD englishman Contributing Member • Posts: 944
Re: Canon 18-135mm STM Lens - Got it!

I played with this lens extensively today. Here's what I think.

Pros: fast PDAF focusing, nice zoom range, full-time autofocus (with shutter pressed halfway), useful image stabilization (nice for video), fairly silent

Cons: softness across the entire focal range (much worse at the wide end; I guess I'm spoiled with my L glass), significant CA in a variety of situations (worse at the wide end), some front focusing

Here are some of my example shots. Honestly, I'm disappointed. I will probably sell this lens or return the entire kit to Best Buy and just buy the body.

I will say I AM very happy with how this particular body works with my 135mm f/2 prime. Beautiful. But not overly happy with this lens.

007peter
007peter Forum Pro • Posts: 11,430
Thanks for your honest review.....that's too bad

englishman wrote:

Cons: softness across the entire focal range (much worse at the wide end; I guess I'm spoiled with my L glass), significant CA in a variety of situations (worse at the wide end), some front focusing

Honestly, I'm disappointed. I will probably sell this lens or return the entire kit to Best Buy and just buy the body.

Great review Englishman. I didn't want to hear your conclusion because I really want to like this lens, but it is what it is, and the result speaks for themselves. I thank you for your honesty.

itsDing
itsDing Senior Member • Posts: 2,211
Re: Thanks for your honest review.....that's too bad