Buying 60d with kit lens, opinions please.

Started Jun 12, 2012 | Discussions
ElCap New Member • Posts: 9
Buying 60d with kit lens, opinions please.

Looking to buy the 60D but would like some opinions

Im thinking to either buy with the EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM or the EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens Kit. Which is the better lens?

Another idea was just to buy the body and the 50mm 1.8 seperately. Main use for camera intially will be to photograph the kids and I have read this is good for portraits.

I am also looking at adding a new lens further down the line, the EF 70-200mm f/4.0 L USM Lens. Maybe buying without a kit lens will save some £ so I could purchase this sooner but thats not a major issue, I can wait longer for this lens if need be.

Im pretty new to dslr photography, got an old 300d I have used now and again. Would the 60D be too advanced for me. Looking for a camera that will last for a long time and something I could grow in to and learn a lot as I get better.

Been reading reviews on the 60d for a while and I kinda have my heart set on it now.

Thanks.

Canon EOS 300D (EOS Digital Rebel / EOS Kiss Digital) Canon EOS 60D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
TTMartin
TTMartin Veteran Member • Posts: 7,304
Re: Buying 60d with kit lens, opinions please.

To my knowledge the 17-85 is a store bundled lens, not a normal kit lens from Canon.

The 17-85 is an older lens, and from what I've heard doesn't have a great reputation.

I would go with the 18-135mm kit lens. While it is not a USM lens, it should give you the best image quality for the dollar.

TTMartin's gear list:TTMartin's gear list
Canon PowerShot S100 (2000) Canon PowerShot SD1000 Canon PowerShot G1 X Canon EOS 7D Canon EOS 400D +26 more
Tuckerpup Regular Member • Posts: 177