Canon 7d lens error clean contacts.

Started May 10, 2012 | Discussions
Shop cameras & lenses ▾
Ironmanbud1940 Junior Member • Posts: 40
Canon 7d lens error clean contacts.

Canon 7d lens error clean contacts. How can I get the lens to work better I have the sigma 18-250 is lens. I love this lens and don't want to loose this good lens!

MI6gunny Contributing Member • Posts: 518
Re: Canon 7d lens error clean contacts.

I've seen some guys chime in saying go over the contacts with a vinyl eraser. Try it perhaps, maybe on the lens as well. If not perhaps its time to give that Sigma warranty a try
--
D. Fortune

 MI6gunny's gear list:MI6gunny's gear list
Nikon D5000 Canon EOS 60D Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm F1.8G Sigma 18-200mm F3.5-6.3 DC OS HSM +3 more
MisterPootieCat
MisterPootieCat Veteran Member • Posts: 3,121
Any other lenses?

Ironmanbud1940 wrote:

Canon 7d lens error clean contacts. How can I get the lens to work better I have the sigma 18-250 is lens. I love this lens and don't want to loose this good lens!

Do you own and use other lenses without getting this error message? If so, then the problem would seem to be with the Sigma lens. I would try wiping the contacts on the lens with a microfiber cloth to see if that helps.

I seem to recall Sigma users were getting this error when the 7D was released. Have you tried to give Sigma a call?

 MisterPootieCat's gear list:MisterPootieCat's gear list
Canon EOS 40D Canon EOS 300D Canon EOS 7D Canon EOS 80D Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM +22 more
elfroggio
elfroggio MOD Senior Member • Posts: 2,556
Re: Canon 7d lens error clean contacts.

Ironmanbud1940 wrote:

Canon 7d lens error clean contacts. How can I get the lens to work better I have the sigma 18-250 is lens. I love this lens and don't want to loose this good lens!

I have a similar problem with my Sigma 120-400 OS. The AF does not work, it just goes back and forth. There is some kind of very thin oily film that forms on the contact. It only happens with the Sigma, I have a few other Canon lenses and they are not affected by it, so it must be from the Sigma lens.

To make it work properly, I clean the contact on both the lens and the camera with an LCD cleaner solution that I spray on a lint-less cloth. Then it works without any problem.

Being in Canada, I have a 10 year warranty, so I will send it out for repair in July/August when I won't need it.

-- hide signature --

Thanks
http://foto-biz.com
The Business of Being a Photographer -- Lightroom Q&A

Robert Sheldon Senior Member • Posts: 2,098
Re: Canon 7d lens error clean contacts.

The problem is not just Sigma. I have a Canon 1.4X Mk II TC that is giving me the same error signal. Other TCs (Kenko and Tamron) work fine on the camera. The Canon TC had worked fine for several years.
--
Bob Sheldon
Photo Gallery at
http://www.bobsheldon.com

Ronald Woan Forum Member • Posts: 52
Re: Canon 7d lens error clean contacts.

The two times I started to experience this I had to send the lens back to Sigma for service. I think they just replaced the circuit board each time.

 Ronald Woan's gear list:Ronald Woan's gear list
Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Canon EOS 7D Sigma 18-250mm F3.5-6.3 DC OS HSM Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG Macro HSM II Tamron 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD +1 more
Ironmanbud1940 OP Junior Member • Posts: 40
Re: Canon 7d lens error clean contacts.

Did they charge for the repare. I am told I have a lifetime warranty because the dealer is a arthorized dealer for sigma.

Ironmanbud1940 OP Junior Member • Posts: 40
Re: Canon 7d lens error clean contacts.

Thanks for the replies.

stulawton84 New Member • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 7d lens error clean contacts.

Hi guys. I've been having trouble with my sigma lens. Coming up with error message the same as stated above. Now I have discovers something that may help? The camera actually takes a shot no bother with the lens cap on over and over I ran it with out a single error took the lens cap off and er01 straight away. Any ideas on that? The lens works I've had it working but I'm thinking less about contacts now and having settings changed for sensors?

Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads