nikon d5100 & SB-700 remote flash issue

Started Jan 9, 2012 | Discussions
hoitep New Member • Posts: 2
nikon d5100 & SB-700 remote flash issue

Hi guys,

I have a question about using the SB-700 as a remote flash.

I've been playing around with my d5100 for a while now and recently decided to add a SB-700 flash to my collection. It works great when used in the hotshoe but when I put it on the stand that comes with the flash to use it remotely, it didn't work as smooth as I expected it to. I found out that it doesnt go off when i shoot in the Automatic setting (of my d5100), but it does in Manual mode.

As I am quite new to shooting with flash, let alone the use of remote flashes, I want to start out using flash in the regular Auto setting, so I was wondering if there is any way to get the flash to work when I have my DSLR in the Auto setting.
All tips are much appreciated.

Thanks!

Hoite

Nikon D5100
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
gisle Senior Member • Posts: 2,468
Not with the D5100 pop-up flash

The SB-700 can use work in auto (i.e. i-TTL) remote mode, but not with the D5100 pop-up flash as master (it is a limitation that Nikon imposes on its entry level DSLR models. Models from the D7000 and up does not have this limitation.)

You can buy a separate unit for around USD 250 that Nikon calls the SU-800 and that will add this capability to the D5100, more here: http://dpanswers.com/content/nikon_flash_models.php#su800
--
– gisle [ See profile/plan for equipment list ]

Quantum Help Senior Member • Posts: 1,666
Re: Not with the D5100 pop-up flash

When you say automatic mode on the camera. are you referring to the little green camera setting? If so, that will not handle the wireless. Try using the P or A modes on the camera instead.

Quantum Help's gear list:Quantum Help's gear list
Nikon D90 Nikon D1X Nikon D200 Nikon D300S Nikon AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D ED-IF +5 more
OP hoitep New Member • Posts: 2