Canon FD 100mm f/2.8 on NEX-5N

Started Nov 19, 2011 | Discussions
Shop cameras & lenses ▾
alexab Forum Member • Posts: 63
Canon FD 100mm f/2.8 on NEX-5N

Just got this lens. Took it out for a walk in downtown Boston during my lunch break for a few quick shots. So far I like it. Pleasant contrast and colors, pretty sharp, good bokeh. Not easy to handhold a longish lens though while trying to nail the focus, but I am still learning... I think it might be a great lens in the hands of an experienced photographer (especially for under $100). What do you think?

alexab's gear list:alexab's gear list
Sony a6000 Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D Sony E 55-210mm F4.5-6.3 OSS Sony E 35mm F1.8 OSS Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm F4 ZA OSS
Sony Alpha NEX-5N
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Horshack Veteran Member • Posts: 5,803
Re: Canon FD 100mm f/2.8 on NEX-5N

Yep, it's a great lens and I agree, it's very difficult to handhold and focus...it's just beyond the comfortable weight/focal length threshold for me. Here's I shot I took with my copy, also on a 5N:

alexab OP Forum Member • Posts: 63

Beautiful shot. Has this 3D effect that is usually achieved with a wide angle lens rather than a tele.

I didn't quite understand your weight remark. This lens is remarkably lightweight: 270g (I have the late more plasticy version). Do you think it's too light to hold it steady? I always thought that heavier lenses are more difficult to handle, especially if you don't use an EVF and have to hold the camera in front of you.

Sony a6000 Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D Sony E 55-210mm F4.5-6.3 OSS Sony E 35mm F1.8 OSS Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm F4 ZA OSS
Alupang
Alupang Senior Member • Posts: 2,839

alexab wrote:

Beautiful shot. Has this 3D effect that is usually achieved with a wide angle lens rather than a tele.