How do you select & use properly a monopod ? ?

Started Sep 2, 2011 | Discussions
fastHID
fastHID Contributing Member • Posts: 811
How do you select & use properly a monopod ? ?

What are the proper ways to use a monopod?

What are the important features to look for in buying a monopod?

What brands and models of monopod do you own that you especially like?

yes, I am a rookie, but learning as quickly as one can and in doing my HDR photos find handheld to be not often satisfactory, and wondering if a good monopod, properly used, would be adequate? I am imagining a pro with a good monopd does good work, and I've seen guys at auto races, sports events, etc. move about easily carrying a monopod.

Do you position your height so you are hunched over a bit, or bolt upright?

My use is with a Canon 60D and lenses from 10mm up to only 250mm

beshannon Veteran Member • Posts: 4,216
Re: How do you select & use properly a monopod ? ?

To do proper HDR you will need a tripod.
--
My Smugmug photos http://www.brianshannonphotography.com/
My photo blog http://brianshannonphotography.blogspot.com/
My 500px photos http://500px.com/brianshannonphotography/

beshannon's gear list:beshannon's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7 Sigma DP2s Leica V-Lux (Typ 114) Nikon D800E Nikon 1 J4 +3 more
fastHID
OP fastHID Contributing Member • Posts: 811

ok, forgetting HDR, how do you pick a good monopod and use it correctly?

RaymondR
RaymondR Senior Member • Posts: 2,458

here is an article I found helpful on how to use a monopod.
http://www.outdooreyes.com/photo5.php3

as for picking the right one, max height, max load and weight (alum vs. carbon fiber) are the usual criteria, depending on your budget.

you will want either a ball head or swivel tilt (not a pan tilt) head with a quick release.

bh photo and adorama have good search engines that allow you to refine your options.

-- hide signature --

RaymondR

RaymondR's gear list:RaymondR's gear list