Is my 55-250 broken?

Started Aug 16, 2011 | Discussions
treepop
treepop Contributing Member • Posts: 723
Is my 55-250 broken?

I was comparing my 55-250 to my 18-135 and noticed a big problem. 135mm on my 18-135 was equivalent to 96mm on my 55-250. Additionally. The 55-250 is exceptionally more blurry than the 18-135, which shouldn't be the case at all.

Please look at my pictures. I shot them with a tripod, IS off, and 2 sec delay shot.

I will look to see if 18mm and 55mm match my other lenses, but I am pretty sure the 55-250 is broken and needs to be sent in.

Of course I am a photography noob, so any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

treepop's gear list:treepop's gear list
Canon PowerShot S90 Canon EOS 5D Mark II Sony a6500 Sony a7 III Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II +20 more
Jon_T
Jon_T Veteran Member • Posts: 4,061
Re: Is my 55-250 broken?

treepop wrote:

I was comparing my 55-250 to my 18-135 and noticed a big problem. 135mm on my 18-135 was equivalent to 96mm on my 55-250. ...

Depends on the camera to subject distance. Not unusual with the wide-tele zooms that the max tele focal length is only when focused at infinity. As the distance between the camera and the subject decreases, the effective focal length decreases. Would not be surprised if you may notice the same effect comparing the 55-250 with a fixed 200mm tele lens.

... Additionally. The 55-250 is exceptionally more blurry than the 18-135, which shouldn't be the case at all. ...

Curious as to what's your reason(s) you would think that? This subject was discussed in your similar previous thread: http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1029&message=38938907

-- hide signature --

Jon_T's gear list:Jon_T's gear list
Panasonic FZ1000 Panasonic LX100 Panasonic ZS100 Canon EOS 6D Canon EOS 70D +16 more
Gene L. Veteran Member • Posts: 3,788