G11 - control wheel question

Started Jun 26, 2011 | Discussions
ooman3 New Member • Posts: 3
G11 - control wheel question

I'm just getting started figuring out how to use my new (to me) Canon g11, but I think it may have a problem...

When the g11 is in Av or Tv mode the shutter speed or aperture scale image isn't always on the screen, I can turn the control wheel and the scal will only appear every few seconds, and when it does it's not very responsive. For example in Tv mode the "1/125" is there along the bottom, but I can turn the control wheel for a few revolutuions without anything changing, and the the scale will appear above the "1/25" and it may or may not increase or decrease as I turn the wheel.

Something's wrong - right? Shouldn't it be there as long as I leave it in either Tv or Av mode, and shouldn't it react as soon as I turn the control dial?

Thanks.

mikeval Senior Member • Posts: 1,205
Re: G11 - control wheel question

This is a known problem with the G11, and has been discussed at length in these forums. The scroll wheel doesn't scroll as well as it should, sometimes not changing the settings, or changing them a bit erratically. I have an 18 month old G11 with exactly the same prob. I have managed to live with it for a few months, but then it's my second camera and I tend to use it less and less nowadays. I have considered repair, but have no idea how much it would cost or if it would really solve the matter.

You have my sympathies, if it were my only camera and I had spent hundreds of pounds on it I would be furious with Canon.

To make matters worse, on mine the retractable lens cover has just started to scratch the front element - another known issue with this model - yet I have always handled the camera very carefully indeed and done my best to look after it. The G series has a good reputation, but Canon quality control sucks.