cactus v5 question: trigger shutter and flash?

Started Jun 7, 2011 | Discussions
Alex C W Junior Member • Posts: 45
cactus v5 question: trigger shutter and flash?

I'm new to remote triggering so this may be a noob question but I have 3 cactus v5 transcievers. I set up one on my flash (yongnuo 560) and one with a cord to fire the shutter. I can execute both using the third but they don't sync. the shutter releases after the flash so the image has none of the light in it.

any suggestions? I'm using a Lumix GF1 and my present feeling is that it's just not fast enough (?).

thanks!

Joseph S Wisniewski Forum Pro • Posts: 34,677
You need four units...

Alex C W wrote:

I'm new to remote triggering so this may be a noob question but I have 3 cactus v5 transcievers. I set up one on my flash (yongnuo 560) and one with a cord to fire the shutter. I can execute both using the third but they don't sync. the shutter releases after the flash so the image has none of the light in it.

any suggestions? I'm using a Lumix GF1 and my present feeling is that it's just not fast enough (?).

No camera is fast enough. The flash is essentially instant, so it always fires before the camera.

The way you make this work is to put two units on the camera, one in your hand, and one on your flash. That's 4, total.

• Set one as a receiver, pick a random channel, like 1, and connect it to the camera's shutter cable.

• Set one as a transmitter, set it to the same channel as the above receiver. That's your remote trigger. Try it, make sure it fired the camera.

• Set one as a transmitter, set it to a different channel than the units above, say channel 2, and connect it to the camera's flash connecter or stick it in the hot shoe. That's going to transmit when the camera's shutter is open.

• Set the last one as a receiver, set it to the same channel as the above transmitter, and put the flash in the hot shoe.