A wet K5 - what to do now?

Started May 2, 2011 | Discussions
Ken Knott Regular Member • Posts: 276
A wet K5 - what to do now?

Ok, so as mentioned in the previous post, my K5 got wet while kayaking and begun to malfunction. Specifically, it not longer recognized the SD card and some motor began to get sluggish causing overexposure...

After drying overnight, it's working good as new at this point....

But likely (clearly?) moisture got inside and presumably there is a risk for rust or mold?

Should I send it in for repairs? Keep a close eye on it? Or not worry about it?

Thanks,

Ken

math guy Senior Member • Posts: 2,604
send it in = peace of mind

I'm no expert here, but I would say that if you have to ask, then send it in. That's a $1300 gamble (less the cost of inspection/repair) that I wouldn't personally be willing to take. I would imagine the repair would be much more costly down the road if in fact rust and mold begin to set in. Plus, your peace of mind in the mean time has to be worth something.

Whatever you decide, I wish you the best of luck. I can only imagine how sick I would be if I that had happened to me. I truly hope that the damge turns out to be minimal.

-- hide signature --

-- Joe S.
'The laws of nature are but the mathematical thoughts of God.' ~ Euclid

http://www.pentaxphotogallery.com/josephschmitt

math guy's gear list:math guy's gear list
Pentax K-50 Sony a6400 Pentax smc DA 21mm F3.2 AL Limited Pentax smc DA 70mm F2.4 AL Limited Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL WR +7 more
GPGeneralPhoto
GPGeneralPhoto Senior Member • Posts: 2,154
Re: A wet K5 - what to do now?

I don't know where to get locally, but the 'dryer' bags are available on the internet. You know - the 'Do Not Eat' bags that come in electronic equipment? Pack a bunch of new ones of these in a large zip top bag with the camera. Old ones do not work, they will loose the power to absorb water very quickly if left out.
--
I'm thankful to still be able to...