FZ40 vs. FZ100 (Macro)

Started Feb 8, 2011 | Discussions
Starcade New Member • Posts: 6
FZ40 vs. FZ100 (Macro)

Hello all!

I have searched this forum for this topic and could not find a debate on the FZ40 vs. FZ100 that I could fully understand given my knowledge in photography. I am an extreme amateur photographer who loves macro photography (both inside and outside) and I'm currently looking at the FZ40 vs. the FZ100. I am sick of using a dinky $99 point and shoot camera and would love to upgrade to a more "professional" investment. I cannot afford anything higher in price than $379, which is what the FZ100 is listed at. Given the expertise on this forum, what would you guys recommend as the best camera for the job? I will also use the camera for scenery/nature shots while I'm out on a hike or at the park, so I will not be doing 100% macro shooting by any means.

Thanks in advance!

B1ackhat Senior Member • Posts: 1,980
Re: FZ40 vs. FZ100 (Macro)

I had both of these cams, but as I don't shoot macros very often, I can't really comment on that. In general, I found the FZ40 to be sharper and do better with fine detail (underbrush, hair/fur, etc) but I found the FZ100 to have better colors. LT has shot some very nice macros with the FZ100 and he also owns the FZ40 so perhaps he can offer better feedback on those specific types of shots. Based on my own needs, I opted to keep the FZ40, for whatever that's worth.

-- hide signature --

If you abuse or kill animals, children, or the elderly, you deserve to be tortured and killed.

OP Starcade New Member • Posts: 6

This is very helpful. Thank you for your post!

shuttervelocity Regular Member • Posts: 361

My 4-yr old came running..."Daddy, we have a lil cutie bed-bug on the sofa". I grabbed my FZ100 and ran, ready to kill it, at the same time dreading the possibility we might have a bed-bug infestation in our home. Thank God, it wasn't a bed-bug. At least, I hope its not.