Using the VCL-ECU1 Ultra Wide Converter with filters

Started Feb 2, 2011 | Discussions
1aTa New Member • Posts: 12
Using the VCL-ECU1 Ultra Wide Converter with filters

I was looking to order the VCL-ECU1 to take travelling for mainly landscape shots but it just dawned on me that I can't see of any way to attach ND filters on the front for long exposures.

Is the hood removable or could I install a filter in between the adapter and the 16mm lens? If not is there some other way to attach filters as I'm quite new to this?

Cheers in advance.

headofdestiny Veteran Member • Posts: 9,226
Re: Using the VCL-ECU1 Ultra Wide Converter with filters
PhillipA Veteran Member • Posts: 5,505
I don't think ...

.. that the Lee filter (or the similar Cokin) system will work on the Wide angle converter either as they require an adapter to be fitted to the lens first, and once again there is no filter thread to mount it to.

Unless you mean holding the 100mm square Lee filters in front of the lens by hand?

..... thinks ... Blu-Tac ??
--

Judge: ' This image may be better in black and white - perhaps even just black! '

OP 1aTa New Member • Posts: 12
Re: I don't think ...

Yeah I still haven't bought any filters yet as I was waiting until I had all my lenses sorted so that I could decide exactly what I needed. I've looked at both the Lee and Cokin systems.

If the lens hood on the wide angle adapter is not removable (and it doesn't look like it is) I doubt you could even hold or "blue-tac" a filter to the front due to the light leakage in the gaps of the hood. You would have to fill those too and I would assume that would cause vignetting.

headofdestiny Veteran Member • Posts: 9,226
Re: I don't think ...

PhillipA wrote:

.. that the Lee filter (or the similar Cokin) system will work on the Wide angle converter either as they require an adapter to be fitted to the lens first, and once again there is no filter thread to mount it to.