Buying Epson R1900 or R2880, and have Question on Calibrations and Paper

Started Dec 3, 2010 | Discussions
m_markovich Regular Member • Posts: 128
Buying Epson R1900 or R2880, and have Question on Calibrations and Paper

Fellow forum members

I am moving away from HP Photo Smart 7960, more precisely I am moving it into my office; and I am pulling the trigger by tomorrow when Rebate deal expires on Epson R1900 or R2880. I was contemplating also Epson 3880, I am in photography as hobby for almost 40 years, but I have very little experience with printing, color matching and Monitor and printer calibrations. Therefore, I decided to postpone for at least few years getting more professional printer like 3880 and to go with Epson R1900 or 2880 and learn about areas I am missing. I have SC4 and if needed I could get CS5 for a fraction of the cost (educational institution). I am in the process of getting Adobe LR3 and I hope that with CS4 would be sufficient to handle printing.

My hardware is:

HP Voodoo Blackbird002, 8GB RAM Crucial Balistix memory, Dual NVIDA 8800 Ultra SLI, OZC 120GB SSD Sand Force controller based HD, several WD Raptors for storage and Dell 2709W LCD. The system is running Window 7 PRO

So to start with learning color matching and Monitor and printer calibrations my questions are:

1. What do I need as far as hardware goes, what is recommended as affordable solution for LCD calibration or do I need to get something that would do booth Printer and LCD calibration.

2. I am aware of existence of Epson paper “Sampler Pack,” and I shall order some, but I would like to take the opportunity of Epson current, I think until tomorrow, 40% discount on their papers, so what would be recommendation to get.

2a. I am aware that R1900 shines with glossy paper, but I would like trying, other types of high quality papers, so what would be the recommendation for paper to get?