NEX 5 + IR 760nm Filter

Started Aug 3, 2010 | Discussions
Adam Cheung Junior Member • Posts: 43
NEX 5 + IR 760nm Filter

I bought a cheap Massa IR filter for fun few days ago. I use it with a step up ring (49mm to 67mm). I tried the filter these two days and the result is not entirely satisfactiory. Partially, coz I am new to IR photography so I have many things ignored probably. No lens hood is used since I was a step up adaptor. What I found in my photo is hotspot, and vignetting and strong flare. Perhaps it's the cheap fliter, or perhaps it's about me with no skill at all.

Most of the photo are taken with high ISO with long exposure. So, the noise is visible even not viewing in 100%. I assume that NEX 5 is very not sensitive to IR? Any comment?

P.s. using long exposure, I really realise how power hungry my NEX 5 is. I am gonna buy a spare battery.

rrcphoto Veteran Member • Posts: 6,173
Re: NEX 5 + IR 760nm Filter

the flare is normal, hotspots are most likely the lens - however, the smaller registration distance may also play a factor in that if you are using a kit lens.

IR's mostly better by removing the cut filter from in front of the sensor, which leads to better results - especially on a EVIL system.

most modern day sensors have pretty strong IR cutoffs - and don't respond well to filters.

Goldenlens Forum Member • Posts: 64

These picture look great. They are really somethin special. Well done.

Royal1 Senior Member • Posts: 1,406

No, I think the results are spectacular. Nice job and the camera surprises me that it can do that well and not leave a spot in the center from the low pass filter. I have to give it a try. Thanks for sharing.

Tom

Royal1's gear list:Royal1's gear list
Fujifilm X100S Sony RX100 II Fujifilm X-E2 Sony a6000 Sony a7 II +1 more